Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CAMEO Chemicals is a database of hazardous chemical datasheets that emergency responders and planners can use to get response recommendations and predict hazards—such as explosions or toxic fumes. It is part of the CAMEO software suite, developed jointly by NOAA and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). CAMEO Chemicals is available in both online and desktop versions, so that you don’t have to rely on an internet connection to get your response information.
ChemView is a new database by the EPA for access to health and safety data on chemicals regulated under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). It contains information EPA receives and develops about chemicals including those on EPA’s Safer Chemical Ingredient List.
Inert Use Information (U.S. EPA)
InertFinder is an online database for searching substances used as inert ingredients in pesticide products. InertFinder is searchable by chemical name or CAS Registry Number, and provides information on the approval status of substances used as inert ingredients for use in food use, nonfood use and fragrance use pesticide products.
Internet Resources for MSDS
Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) on the Internet.
Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) in PubChem
Contains pertinent chemical hazard and safety information for more than 3,000 compounds. The LCSS provided by PubChem is intended to augment, not replace, safe laboratory practices and procedures for chemical information, such as those found in chemical inventory management systems or laboratory-specific personal protective equipment information.
New Jersey Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets
The Fact Sheets are prepared for substances on the New Jersey Right to Know Hazardous Substance List. More than 1,600 Fact Sheets have been completed and more than 900 have been translated into Spanish.
OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
OSHA maintains this chemical database as a convenient reference for the occupational safety and health community. It compiles information from several government agencies and organizations.
Safety Letters (C&EN)
An index of the chemical safety letters that have appeared in C&EN since 1993. The index is alphabetized by the chemical involved in the letter. Click on the title to access the full text of the letter or C&EN article.
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, as well as larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It holds information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.
National Toxicology Program (NTP)
NTP is an interagency program whose mission is to evaluate agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology. The program maintains an objective, science-based approach in dealing with critical issues in toxicology and is committed to using the best science available to prioritize, design, conduct, and interpret its studies.
Chemical Safety National Library of Medicine's Environmental Health and Toxicology Portal
The U.S. government has several reputable databases dealing with toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. This guide provides a starting point to help you select the right resource for your needs. The database table has expanded descriptions and sample records for some of these resources.
Environmental and Nanotechnology Information
ACS Nanotechnology Safety Resources
Low-solubility ultrafine particles are more toxic than larger particles on a mass-for-mass basis. Nanomaterials present new challenges in understanding, predicting, and managing potential health risks.
Nanotechnology and Human Health Links
Provides links to materials on nanotechnology uses and environmental concerns. Also included are links to databases, maps, regulations, policy, and PubMed searches. Provided by: The National Library of Medicine.
The goal of the GoodNanoGuide is to create a central repository for good practices for safely handling nanomaterials that can be used and contributed to by people from all over the world. You can access the latest GoodNanoGuide Fact Sheet for more information.
National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI)
The National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) is committed to the responsible development of nanotechnology as one of its four main goals, and as an important part of its environmental, health, and safety (EHS) research strategy. This includes sound, scientific assessment of nanotechnology’s benefits and risks, and an understanding of the potential EHS impacts of nanotechnology.
NIOSH Safety and Health Topic: Nanotechnology
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) website provides guidance & publications pertaining to nanotechnology.
OECD - Safety of manufactured nanomaterials
The OECD reveals the release of information on the accuracy of tests used to determine the safety of nanomaterials. The safety of Manufactured Nanomaterials is an important concern impacting regulatory bodies throughout the world.