Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Chemical Laboratory Safety: Mobile Apps & Software

Information to help keep you and your lab safe

Mobile Apps & Software

Chemical Compatibility Database Logo

Chemical Compatibility Database  (Free for iOS) Every day thousands of scientists, engineers and technicians need to determine chemical compatibility for storage, transport and use. Finding the right material compatibility is key to safety and saving money. This app leverages years of research on chemical compatibility for plastics, metals, Elastomers and ceramics. It contains more than 24,528 entries covering 584 chemicals and 42 materials. One of the most comprehensive chemical compatibility databases in the world is now available for your iPhone and iPad.

CAMEO Chemicals Logo

CAMEO Chemicals  (Free for iOS) CAMEO Chemicals is a database of hazardous chemical datasheets that emergency responders and planners can use to get response recommendations and predict hazards (such as explosions or toxic fumes). CAMEO Chemicals is developed jointly by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Office of Response and Restoration in partnership with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Office of Emergency Management. This app runs offline.

Chemical Safety Datasheet Logo

Chemical Safety Data Sheets - ICSC  (Free for iOS) Search by chemical name or CAS RN or RTECS number.  Information on fire/explosive hazards and first aid/firefighter response method; eye/skin/ingestion exposure symptoms and first aid treatment; spill response, storage and packaging; physical properties, etc.  Based on International Chemical Safety Cards by IPCS Review committee.

Wizer Logo

WIZER - Wireless Information for Emergency Responders (Free for all OS) This National Library of Medicine resource is available for download as a standalone application or via WebWISER.  Provides identification, equipment considerations, protective measures, fire procedures, reactivities, first aid treatment and other information for commonly encountered chemicals

Chemical Reactivity Worksheet Logo

Chemical Reactivity Worksheet (Free download) Contains a database of chemical datasheets for thousands of chemicals. The datasheets describe the physical properties, toxicity, and intrinsic reactive hazards of each chemical. Also included is a reactivity prediction worksheet that allows you to see the results of accidental mixing of various chemicals.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.