CHAPS Research Guide

Here you will find the entire list of databases available to Rutgers students and faculty. They are presented in an alphabetical list, with options to narrow down by subject matter.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Avery contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals. These include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes references to more than thirteen thousand obituary citations providing an excellent source of biographical data - often the only information available for less-published architects.

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, and sociology will also find relevant anthropological material. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

The majority of the content in Oxford Art Online comes from Grove Art Online, which contains over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.

JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals. Journals that do not include full-text may be requested using the Article Delivery Service. Articles date from 1665 to 1-5 years after publication date.

Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain.
1958-

Open Access

An Open-access peer reviewed journal

(2000 - )