Skip to Main Content

History of Childhood and Youth

This guide introduces library and internet materials relevant to the study of the history of childhood and youth.

Selected Reference Works

Reference Books
Children and Childhood / REF HQ 781 B45 1997
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society / REF HQ 767.84 G74 2008
Encyclopedia of Family Life / REF HQ 534 E53 1999
Parenthood in America / REF HQ 755.8 D3783
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature / REF PN 1008.5 O04 2006
Encyclopedia of Student and Youth Movements / REF LA 186 B87 1998
Girlhood in America:  An Encyclopedia / REF HQ 777 G5745 2001
Boyhood in America:  An Encyclopedia / REF HQ 777 B635 2001


Bibliographies
American Diaries / REF CT 214 A74
Remembered Childhood:  A Guide to Autobiography and Memoirs of Childhood and Youth / REF CT 25 L66 2007
Oxford Bibliographies Online:  Childhood Studies (online, on Libraries' database list)
United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990 : A Comprehensive Bibliography / REF HQ 1410 H85 1993

 

 

 

 

Rutgers University Libraries
169 College Ave
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

Contact Us Giving to the Libraries

Staff Resources

About Rutgers University Libraries
Contact the Libraries
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.