History of Childhood and Youth

You can search for articles in the search box on the libraries' main website (www.libraries.rutgers.edu), or you may wish to search individual databases found here

Some indexes provide the full text article or a link to it.  Others only provide a citation.  Look for the "Get It @ R" button to see if we have the full text of the article.  Some relevant indexes include the full text of the material.  (P is primary source information; S is secondary):

• ERIC (education)
• Sociological Abstracts (sociology)
• American Periodical Series (P)
• PsycInfo (P, S)
• America:  History & Life (S)
• Historical Abstracts (S)
• New York Times (P, S)
• Washington Post (P, S)
• Readers’ Guide Retrospective (P)
• America’s Historical Newspapers (P)
• Chronicling America:  Historic American Newspapers (P)
• Ethnic Newswatch (P, S)
• JSTOR (P, S)

Other useful databases containing primary sources:

• Children's Literature and Culture
• Everyday Life of Women in America, c. 1800-1920
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries:  Colonial Times to 1950
• Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
• Early American Imprints
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• American Civil War:  Letters and Diaries
• Hathi Trust (also search their collections feature)
• Historical Statistics
• WorldCat (to locate resources world-wide)
• ArchiveGrid (to locate archival resources) https://researchworks.oclc.org/archivegrid/