Department Liaison - Camden
Finding Books
Finding Books (Back to Top)
To Find a Book at the Paul Robeson Library search by author, title, subject or keyword in the search box at www.libraries.rutgers.edu:
You can use the left hand tool bar to limit your search to books. Click on Resource Type and the drop down menu will include books, select that to limit.
A general subject heading is: Childhood United States History
Subheadings for primary sources include: personal narratives, diaries, memoirs, correspondence, and sources
Databases of Books Available Electronically (selected list)
- Early English Books (Rutgers access only) (Note: This collection is included in the main library search box, but sometimes it is easier to search it as a separate database. Search for author, title or subject and you can link to the full-text of the book. From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this online image collection contains practically all books printed in English up to the 18th century, over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition.)
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Rutgers access only) Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digital collection of nearly all the works published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in the United Kingdom) during the 18th century, totaling over 180,000 titles.
- HathiTrust (Rutgers access only for some materials) The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials digitized from collections in libraries around the world. As you search HathiTrust, you will find three different types of materials: Temporary Access, Full View, and Limited
- Project Gutenberg (Note: Search by Title. This collection is not concerned with the authenticity of the edition but aims to make as many titles as possible available electronically)