Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Inequality in Postwar America

Why Newspapers?

You can use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.

Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search
search across the six ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001), the Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 – December 31, 2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and the Washington Post (1877-2005). Rutgers-restricted Access.
The Times Digital Archive (London, England)
Search and display the full image of articles published between 1785 and 2012. Rutgers-restricted Access
Google Newspaper Archive
While the digitization project was shut down a number of years ago the digitized copies are available for limited searching and browsing. Lots of local and regional coverage, some going back to the mid-19th century or earlier.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
Search or browse over 6 million pages (over 42,000,000 articles) of 26 significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, as well as issues of several current California newspapers.
La Opinion
Digitized issues of the historic LA newspaper from the 1920s to 2008.

Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Newark Star-Ledger back to 1989.Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw
"News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts, including the current New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Individual New Jersey Newspapers

ProQuest Recent Newspapers: U.S. Northeast Collection
Includes the New Brunswick Home News Tribune (January 17, 2010 - ); the Camden Courier-Post (January 1, 2011 -); and the Asbury Park Press (January 1, 2012 - ). Rutgers-restricted Access
Amboy Guardian
Bi-Weekly. 2011-
The Star-Ledger (Newark)
1989 to the present.
The Times (Trenton)
1993 to the present.
CamdenBase
Selected citations to journal, book and newspaper articles about the city of Camden, New Jersey. The documents cover economic, political, and social events in the city from 1945 to June 2003."

Interested in Newark Newspapers?

See the Newspapers page on the Newark Experience site.

The Media

American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.   Rutgers-restricted Access
TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Online access to NBC and CNN news broadcasts from August 1968 to the present. In addition, the database provides indexing for nightly news programs broadcast by the other national television networks, ABC and CBS; abstracts of each story within a regular news program are fully searchable. Rutgers-restricted Access

What about newspapers that haven't been digitized?

One option is to check the Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries. CRL has more than 12,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers (current and restrospective) at their facility in Chicago. Because the Rutgers Libraries are members, CRL will lend copies of newspapers (usually on microfilm) to Rutgers researchers .

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.