Skip to Main Content

African American History Research Seminar

The Newark News

The Newark Public Library is in the process of digitizing the Newark News, New Jersey's primary newspaper for much of the twentieth century. September 1883 to 1926 is currently available online for browsing or searching.

Newark Evening News Clippings File

The Newark Evening News Morgue clippings file, arranged by subject, is available on microfilm in the New Jersey Information Center.

To see what folders are available on microfilm, you can browse the Newark Evening News Clippings Archive by letter:
|A-C| |D-H| |I-New Jersey| |Newark| |Neway-Rogers| |Roget-S| |T-Z|

The Dana Library has the microfilm of the Newark portion of the Newark News clipping file in the NEWARK collection. (Those files which were labeled "Newark- ".) To see the folders included on the Dana microfilm, browse the Newark portion of the Index.

William Crawford. Editorial Cartoons, 1954-1962
Manuscript collection. Cartoons published in the Newark News relating to state and local politics, especially in Essex and Hudson counties.
Special Collections Call Number: MC 244

Newark Newspapers

Star-Ledger

Full-image access to today's Star-Ledger as well as the paper going back to October 18, 2017, is available as part of the Access World News database. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Full-text access to the Newark Star-Ledger is available from 1989 to the present as part of Access World News (Rutgers-restricted Access).

The Dana Library has the Newark Star-Ledger on microfilm going back to 1980; microfilm reels from August 1, 1945 to December 2003 are also available from the Rutgers Alexander Library in New Brunswick. The Newark Public Library also has the Star-Ledger in its entirely (1939 forward) as well as its predecessor, the Newark Star Eagle (1916-1939), available on microfilm.

Newark Star-Eagle
The Center for Research Libraries has digitized the issues from March 1930. Access is limited to faculty, students and staff from CRL member libraries. Rutgers is a CRL member.

While there is no complete printed or online index to the pre-1989 Star-Ledger, the Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has the card file Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to 1996, as well as locally compiled Newark News Indexes, 1916-1970. NPL's New Jersey Newspaper & Periodical Index currently includes the Cummings Index to the Star-Ledger from 1971 to about mid-1979.

From the 1950's to the mid-1980's librarians at the New Jersey State Library clipped articles from several newspapers, including the Newark Star Ledger, on major topics. The news stories were assigned subject headings and filed in folders. These clippings are available for review at the New Jersey State Library in Trenton. See the detailed Subject Headings List for available files.

Newark Sunday Call

Scattered issues of the Newark Sunday Call, from June 1881 to November 1946, are available online as part of the no longer maintained Google News Archive collection. These issues are browsable but not searchable.

Ethnic Newspapers

La Rivista = The Review
The Center for Research Libraries has digitized issues from December 1917 to October 1921. After that date, La Rivista was incorporated into La Tribuna.
La Tribuna de New Jersey
The Newark Public Library has digitized their issues of the newspaper. 1975-2011 (Incomplete).

The Luso Americano, the Portuguese American newspaper, has been published in Newark since 1928. The Cummings New Jersey Information Center in the Newark Public Library has the Luso Americano from 1971 to the present.

Ethnic newspapers are a valuable source of information on the lives and concerns of immigrant and ethnic groups. The Cummings New Jersey Information Center has a large collection of New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm which includes a number of ethnic Newark newspapers.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.