Minor in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies (MEIS) Research Guide
Databases for Islamic History
Historical Abstracts is an index of scholarly literature covering world history from the 15th century to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada (for those countries, see America: History and Life). Subjects covered include world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. Resource types indexed include journal articles, magazines, books, and dissertations. The database includes indexing for over 2,300 journals in 40 languages.
Cambridge Histories is a series of reference works published by Cambridge University Press. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities and social sciences, with concentrations in political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. Some histories are individual volumes, while others are part of multi-volume series. Rutgers owns many, but not all, Cambridge Histories titles on this platform.
The Bloomsbury Cultural History collection contains Bloomsbury’s Cultural Histories series; ebooks; images from the Wellcome Collection, Rijksmuseum, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art; an interactive timeline; and lesson plans. The collection may be searched, browsed by resource type, or explored by period, place, or topic. The Cultural Histories survey common subjects throughout human history. Each Cultural History is divided into volumes by time period: Antiquity, The Middle Ages, Early Modern Age, The Age of Enlightenment, The Age of Empire, and The Modern Age.
Other LibGuides on Middle Eastern and Islamic History
The Islamic World: History of U.S.-Muslim Relations by Natalie Borisovets, Dana Library.
Islamic Civilizations
Medieval History of the Middle East
Extensive guide to web resources from the Cornell University Library.
Muslim Scientists and Islamic Civilization
Muslim history and contributions during the period of the European Middle Ages.
Books in the John Cotton Dana Library (Newark)
The Crusades by
The first multivolume encyclopedia to document the history of one of the most influential religious movements of the Middle Ages—the Crusades. * 1,000 A–Z entries and texts dealing with individual crusades, people such as the kings of Jerusalem and emperors of Constantinople, places such as Jerusalem, Antioch, and Riga, institutions, literary and historiographical sources, and thematic aspects * 120 contributors representing 25 countries * A chronology of crusading expeditions * 54 maps of major crusades and settlements in the Holy Land, Greece, Iberia, and the Baltic lands * Photographs of castles and landscapes and illustrations of artworks and coins
Call Number: D155.C78 2006 v.1, v. 2, v. 3, v. 4 REFISBN: 9781576078624Publication Date: 2006-08-30
The Race for Paradise by
In 1099, when the first Frankish invaders arrived before the walls of Jerusalem, they had carved out a Christian European presence in the Islamic world that endured for centuries, bolstered by subsequent waves of new crusaders and pilgrims. The story of how this group of warriors, driven byfaith, greed, and wanderlust, created new Christian-ruled states in parts of the Middle East is one of the best-known in history. Yet it offers not even half of the story, for it is based almost exclusively on Western sources and overlooks entirely the perspective of the crusaded. How did medievalMuslims perceive what happened?In The Race for Paradise, Paul M. Cobb offers a new history of the confrontations between Muslims and Franks we now call the "Crusades," one that emphasizes the diversity of Muslim experiences of the European holy war. There is more to the story than Jerusalem, the Templars, Saladin, and theAssassins. Cobb considers the Arab perspective on all shores of the Muslim Mediterranean, from Spain to Syria. In the process, he shows that this is not a straightforward story of warriors and kings clashing in the Holy Land, but a more complicated tale of border-crossers and turncoats; of embassiesand merchants; of scholars and spies, all of them seeking to manage a new threat from the barbarian fringes of their ordered world. When seen from the perspective of medieval Muslims, the Crusades emerge as something altogether different from the high-flying rhetoric of the European chronicles: as acultural encounter to ponder, a diplomatic chess-game to be mastered, a commercial opportunity to be seized, and as so often happened, a political challenge to be exploited by ambitious rulers making canny use of the language of jihad. An engrossing synthesis of history and scholarship, The Race for Paradise fills a significant historical gap, considering in a new light the events that distinctively shaped Muslim experiences of Europeans until the close of the Middle Ages.
Call Number: D157.C58 2014ISBN: 0199358117Publication Date: 2014-07-03
A History of Islam in Indonesia by
Located on the eastern periphery of the historical Muslim world, as a political entity Indonesia is barely a century old. Yet with close to a quarter of a billion followers of Islam it is now the largest and most populous Muslim country in the world. As the greatest political power inSoutheast Asia, and a growing player on the world scene, Indonesia presents itself as a bridge country between Asia, the wider Muslim world and the West. In this survey Carool Kersten presents the Islamisation of Indonesia from the first evidence of the acceptance of Islam by indigenous peoples in the late thirteenth century until the present day. He provides comprehensive insight into the different roles played by Islam in Indonesia throughouthistory, including the importance of Indian Ocean networks for connecting Indonesians with the wider Islamic world, the religion's role as a means of resistance and tool for nation building, and postcolonial attempts to forge an "Indonesian Islam".
Call Number: BP63.I5K47 2017ISBN: 9780748681839Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Europe and the Islamic World by
Europe and the Islamic World sheds much-needed light on the shared roots of Islamic and Western cultures and on the richness of their inextricably intertwined histories, refuting once and for all the misguided notion of a "clash of civilizations" between the Muslim world and Europe. In this landmark book, three eminent historians bring to life the complex and tumultuous relations between Genoans and Tunisians, Alexandrians and the people of Constantinople, Catalans and Maghrebis--the myriad groups and individuals whose stories reflect the common cultural, intellectual, and religious heritage of Europe and Islam. Since the seventh century, when the armies of Constantinople and Medina fought for control of Syria and Palestine, there has been ongoing contact between the Muslim world and the West. This sweeping history vividly recounts the wars and the crusades, the alliances and diplomacy, commerce and the slave trade, technology transfers, and the intellectual and artistic exchanges. Here readers are given an unparalleled introduction to key periods and events, including the Muslim conquests, the collapse of the Byzantine Empire, the commercial revolution of the medieval Mediterranean, the intellectual and cultural achievements of Muslim Spain, the crusades and Spanish reconquest, the rise of the Ottomans and their conquest of a third of Europe, European colonization and decolonization, and the challenges and promise of this entwined legacy today. As provocative as it is groundbreaking, this book describes this shared history in all its richness and diversity, revealing how ongoing encounters between Europe and Islam have profoundly shaped both.
Call Number: DS63.2.E8L3813 2013ISBN: 0691147051Publication Date: 2012-11-04
Books in Other Rutgers Libraries
Islam: An Illustrated History by
This lavishly illustrated work by two renowned scholars narrates the history of the spread of Islam all over the world, from its birth in Arabia in the seventh century to the present day. Islam remains an active and stillspreading phenomenon whose influence in different parts of the world is profound, and, to many non-Muslims, mysterious and little understood. With its 180 maps, 200 illustrations and carefully prepared text, the book brings clarity and under-standing to a religious and cultural force of great contemporary significance. This lavishly illustrated work by two renowned scholars narrates the history of the spread of Islam all over the world, from its birth in Arabia in the seventh century to the present day. Islam remains an active and stillspreading phenomenon whose influence in different parts of the world is profound, and, to many non-Muslims, mysterious and little understood. With its 180 maps, 200 illustrations and carefully prepared text, the book brings clarity and under-standing to a religious and cultural force of great contemporary significance.
Call Number: DS35.63.F74 2006ISBN: 0826418376Publication Date: 2006-01-26
