This is the "U.S. Foreign Relations: Basic Resources" page of the "History of U.S.-Muslim Relations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History of U.S.-Muslim Relations   Tags: history, international_relations, muslims, newark_history, political_science  

Last Updated: Jan 20, 2012 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/usmuslim Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

U.S. Foreign Relations: Basic Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Encyclopedias?

Articles in scholarly encyclopedias usually present a good overview of the topic and identify the current issues, approaches, and scholarship relating to that topic

 

Why Bibliographies?

Bibliographies are great for identifying what has been written, or what source materials exist, relating to a particular topic.

 

Basic Resources

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas
Editors, Alexander DeConde et. al. 2d edition. New York, Scribner, 2002. 3 vols.
121 in-depth scholarly essays on the concepts, themes, movements, and distinctive policies found in the history of American foreign relations.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E183.7.E52 2002
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. 4 vols.
1,024 scholarly entries relating to the political, economic, military, and cultural interactions of the U.S. government and the American people with other nations and peoples. Most entries include bibliography.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E183.7.E53 1997

Bibliographies

American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature
Robert L. Beisner, editor. 2nd edition. Santa Barbara, CA., ABC-CLIO, 2003. 2 vols.
The basic resource for identifying materials (primary documents, books, essays, articles, dissertations, reference sources) on American foreign relations. Based on Burns (below) but without the lengthy historiographic essays and maps. Chronological arrangement with each chapter preceded by a detailed table of contents. Annotated entries.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E183.7 .A44 2003 Preview
Guide to American Foreign Relations Since 1700
Richard Dean Burns. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-Clio, 1983.
The classic bibliographic guide to American foreign relations. Arranged by historical period; annotated entries, extensive historiographic essays, maps, and biographies of key figures.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E183.7 .G83 1983
United States/Middle East Diplomatic Relations, 1784-1978: An Annotated Bibliography
Thomas A. Bryson. Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1979
Dana Call Number: Ref. DS63.2 .U5B79
United States Foreign Policy and the Middle East/North Africa: A Bibliography of Twentieth-Century Research
Sanford R. Silverburg and Bernard Reich. New York, Garland, 1990
Robeson (Camden) Library: DS63.2 .U5S55 1990
U.S. Foreign Relations with the Middle East and North Africa: A Bibliography
Sanford R. Silverburg and Bernard Reich. Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1994.
Alexander Library: Z3014 .R44S55 1994
US Policy in the Middle East: The Struggle for Peace and Prosperity
U.S. Department of the Air Force Special Bibliography Series No. 97. October 2000.
U.S. Foreign Policy Under President Bush
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies No.6/2003.
US Middle East Policy After 9/11
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies No.6/2008.
The Taliban
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies No.4/2009.
Pakistan
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies No.10/2009.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Natalie Borisovets
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip