Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Is the article scholarly?
(a) Getting better search results using AND & OR
Top Science Databases
For a more comprehensive list, see Research Guides
Comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today
The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature
Covers government policies for pollution, as well as the effects of pollution on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues
Scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health
Use in addition to MEDLINE
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine literature
Web of Science
Thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more
It covers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering.
Typical features of a scholarly article:
- Length: scholarly articles are longer, usually at least 8 pages, but there is no set rule, and they usually include diagrams, charts, or graphs
- Bibliography: scholarly articles always have a list of cited works
- Language: scholarly articles are written for scholars and not the general public, so the language is specialized and technical
- Authors: scholarly articles are written by experts who usually have PhDs and academic affiliations
Scholarly articles are published in scholarly journals:
- Some databases will allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals, other databases may provide further details about journals such as whether they are scholarly.
- Publisher databases will include information about a peer review process if the journal is scholarly
Just because your article is published in a scholarly journal doesn't mean your article is scholarly because scholarly journals contain the following items which are NOT scholarly:
- Book reviews
- Letters to the editor
- Short news items
If you are unsure about using the information you've found, be sure to check with a librarian or your professor.