History Commons: On August 30, 2024, the Accessible Archives legacy platform was retired and African American Accessible Archives modules moved to the History Commons platform. Modules that are moving include: African American Newspapers in the South: Newspapers originally published by and for African Americans in the late 19th and early 20th centuries in the Southern United States. African American Newspapers, Parts I-XII, Part XII Supplement: Newspapers originally published by and for African Americans throughout the 19th century.
African American Newspapers series 1 (Readex): African American Newspapers, Series 1 is a collection of 280 digitized newspapers from over 35 U.S. states published by and for African Americans. Each newspaper issue in this collection has been fully digitized and is fully searchable, including all articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations. Some of the major titles in the collection include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L’Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, and The Appeal (MN).
Chicago Defender: Digitized collection of every issue of the Chicago Defender published from 1910 to 1975. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library: The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection, a subset of the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), is a collection of digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic, minority, and native presses. These titles offer a wide range of viewpoints not offered in the mainstream press. The collection includes over 2.5 million articles from more than 300 publications. The majority the articles in the collection in English, but around 25% are in Spanish. includes publications from a wide range of ethnic presses, including African, African American, Arab American, Asian American, Caribbean, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, and Pacific Islander presses.
Readers Guide Retrospective: Popular magazines in U.S 1890-1982. Includes Ebony and Jet magazines
Independent Voices is an open access collection of digitized alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States in the latter half of the twentieth century, mostly in the 1960s and 1970s. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press. (includes Black Dialogue, Muhammad Speaks and more)
Proquest Historical Newspapers (Combined Search): The collections include the Chicago Defender, the Courier Post, the New York Times, the Philadelphia Inquirer, the Pittsburgh Gazette, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New Jersey Collection. This search allows you to search within all the newspaper collections simultaneously. Each issue has been fully digitized and indexed, including all articles, illustrations, and advertisements. (dates 18-20th C, depends on publication)
Latin American Newspapers: Latin American Newspapers is a collection of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries. It includes all content originally published in print, including all articles, illustrations, and advertisements. Dates: 1800-1922
Global Press Archive: Rutgers University Libraries now has access to the following newspaper subcollections: East African Newspapers El Caribe Digital Archive. El Caribe is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change
Access World News Access to the full text contemporary newspapers including over 2200 North American and over 1200 international newspapers.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: digitized newspapers from all the United States, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. Newspapers have been fully digitized and indexed from cover to cover. The collection includes newspapers published between 1798 and 1963; date ranges vary for each newspaper. A variety of search options are available, including by state, ethnicity, language, newspaper title, or date of publication.
American Prison Newspapers: digitized newspapers originally published by incarcerated persons in United States prisons. The collection spans the years of 1800-2023, and it includes newspapers from across the United States and from penal institutions of all kinds, including women's-only institutions (1800-2023)
Collection of digitized American newspapers originally published between 1800 and 1900.