Africana Studies

UMBRA Search: search tool for locating digitized African American history materials in the University of Minnesota collections and archives and libraries around the country. 

Internet Archives:  non-profit library of millions of free texts, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Digital Public Library of America: images, text, sound material and video from repositoris across the country along with digital access to banned books. Browse African American collections, Civil Rights Movement collection, among others

Philadelphia Library Company Digital Collections: digital collections of African American history

African American History Digital Collections at the Library of Congress

African American History Resources at the National Archives

Amistad Research Center Digital Projects: Housed in Tulane University, it is the oldest independent archive specializing in the history of African Americans and other Ethnic Minorities in the U.S.

Archives of African American Music and CultureA repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.

Archives of American Art: Smithsonian Institution's collection of "documentation that supports the study of the history of the visual arts in America".

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: This website contains approximately 1,600 documents from 1790-present.

BlackPast.org: BlackPast is dedicated to providing reliable information on the history of Black people across the globe, and especially in North America.

Born in Slavery: Slave narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938.

Civil Rights Movement Archive: Collections of primary documents from activists of the Civil Rights Movement of 1951-1968, including speeches, letters, reports, memos, photos, and more.

Digital Schomburg: Digital Schomburg (NY Public Library) provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience 24/7. Also see: NYPL Digital Collections

Black Digital History 

This website is a free, searchable directory for online history projects that can help further Black History research. This ongoing project was created to collect information about these digital Black History projects in order to benefit historians, genealogists, and family historians who are researching the lives of Black individuals and families.

Mapping Black Digital & Public Humanities 

an interactive and searchable map of digital and public humanities projects related to Black history & culture. The goals of this project are threefold: 

Directory of Caribbean Digital Scholarship

browse or search an open-source bibliography of digital resources resulting from—and meant for—the study of the Caribbean. Here you will learn more about the contours of our Caribbean scholarly and cultural record online.