Animal Science
This guide provides an overview of the resources available for the study of Zoology and Animal Science.
Reference Books
Reference books are identified by the notation REF on their Call Number. Circulating books are marked Stacks in the Library Catalog. The following are a few of the Zoology and Animal Science reference books at LSM (and Chang).
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Animal Behavior Desk Reference:A Dictionary of Animal Behavior, Ecology and Evolution by Call Number: QL750.3.B37 2001- Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0849320054Publication Date: 2000-12-28The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology by
Call Number: QL9.C66 1991 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0198661622Publication Date: 1991-11-14
A Dictionary of Birds by Call Number: QL672.2.D53 1985 Book - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0931130123Publication Date: 1985-05-01
A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics by Call Number: QH540.4.L56 1998 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0521591392Publication Date: 1998-06-25
A Dictionary of Genetics by Call Number: QH427.K55 2002 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0195143248Publication Date: 2002-07-11
A Dictionary of Zoology by Call Number: QL9.L4 1973 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0094549729Publication Date: 1973-01-01
The Eponym Dictionary of Reptiles by Call Number: QL640.7.B46 2011- Paul Robeson Library (Camden) - STACKSISBN: 9781421401355Publication Date: 2011-07-26
The Invertebrates: An Illustrated Glossary by Call Number: QL362.S82 1991 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0471832944Publication Date: 1992-03-04
The Oxford Dictionary of Natural History by Call Number: QH13.O9 1985 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0192177206Publication Date: 1986-01-23
A World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties by Call Number: SF21.M3 1988 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 085198617XPublication Date: 1988-01-02
Directories
American Men and Women of Science. Physical and Biological SciencesCall Number: Q141.A512 ED. 15 V. 7 1982 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSThe Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists by
Call Number: Q141.C128 1996 - rchibald S. Alexander Library (College Avenue) - REFISBN: 0521567181Publication Date: 1996-06-28The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists is an invaluable one-stop reference book for anyone wanting a quick but reliable account of the life and work of those whose contributions have changed the course of science throughout history. This alphabetically organized, illustrated biographical dictionary covers over 1300 key scientists from more than 38 countries whose work has helped shape modern science. Fields covered include physics, chemistry, biology, geology, astronomy, mathematics, medicine, meteorology and technology - and special attention is paid to those pioneer women whose achievements and example opened the way to scientific careers for their fellow women. Interspersed with illustrations in the form of diagrams, maps and tables, and with special panel features, this book is a clear and accessible guide to the world's prominent scientific personalities.
Nomenclature & Taxonomy
International Code of Zoological Nomenclature Adopted by the Xx General Assembly of the International Union of Biological Sciences English and French Edition
Call Number: QL353.I584 1985 Book - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 085301003X
Latin Names Explained: A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds & Mammals by Call Number: QL353.G68 1995 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0816033773Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Mammal Species of the World : A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference by Call Number: QL708.M35 2005 v.1 - Paul Robeson Library (Camden) - REFISBN: 0801882214Publication Date: 2005-11-16
Selected Titles
Animal Husbandry Regained: The Place of Farm Animals in Sustainable Agriculture by Call Number: SF84.3.W43 2013 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9781849714204Publication Date: 2013-01-10
Conservation and Management of Marine Mammals by Call Number: QL713.2.C65 1999 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 1560987782Publication Date: 1999-09-17
Defending Beef: The Case for Sustainable Meat Production / by Call Number: SF207.N56 2014 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9781603585361Publication Date: 2014-10-31
The Ethology of Domestic Animals by Call Number: Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 1281905046Publication Date: 2002-01-01This book provides a basic, introductory text on the behaviour of domestic animals, a subject that is now taught to a wide range of students of veterinary medicine, animal science and biology. It also provides an overview of the subject for practising veterinarians and advisers.
Extinction in Our Times: Global Amphibian Decline by Call Number: QL644.7.C65 2009 - John Cotton Dana Library (Newark) - STACKSISBN: 9780195316940Publication Date: 2009-07-07
Free-Ranging Cats by Call Number: Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 1118884027Publication Date: 2014-07-16
Hormones and Reproduction of Vertebrates by Call Number: QP252.H67 2011 v.1 Book - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 9780123749321Publication Date: 2010-11-25
Integrated Principles of Zoology by Call Number: QL47.2.H529 1984 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0801621739Publication Date: 1983-12-01
Introduction to Animal Science by Call Number: SF61.P65 2000 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0471170941Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Livestock Feeds and Feeding by Call Number: SF95.K3296 2002 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0130105821Publication Date: 2001-06-08
Lizard Social Behavior by Call Number: QL666.L2L59 2003 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0801868939Publication Date: 2003-01-08
Pennak's Freshwater Invertebrates of the United States: Porifera to Crustacea by Call Number: QL365.365.S65 2001 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0471358371Publication Date: 2001-08-07
The Physiology of Fishes by Call Number: QL639.1.P49 2006 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0849320224Publication Date: 2005-12-15
Restoring North America's Birds: Lessons from Landscape Ecology by Call Number: Call Number: QL676.57.N7A75 2000 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0300079672Publication Date: 2000-02-09
Shorebird Ecology, Conservation, and Management by Call Number: QL696.C4C655 2010 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780520266407Publication Date: 2010-11-16
Ten Thousand Birds: Ornithology Since Darwin by Call Number: Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 9780691151977Publication Date: 2014-02-16
Turtles, Tortoises and Terrapins by Call Number: QL666.C5O23 1986 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0312823622Publication Date: 1986-05-01
Vertebrates : Comparative Anatomy, Function, Evolution by Call Number: QL805.K35 2009 - RESV-DANAISBN: 9780073040585Publication Date: 2008-08-27
Walker's Mammals of the World by Call Number: Call Number: QL703.N68 1999 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0801857899Publication Date: 1999-04-07
Wildlife Conservation in a Changing Climate by Call Number: QL82.W553 2012 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780226074627Publication Date: 2012-12-03
Encyclopedias
Beacham Guide to Endangered Species of North America by Call Number: QH77.N56B43 2001 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REF & Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 9780787676919Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Encyclopedia of Animal Science by Call Number: SF61.E18 2005 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0824754964Publication Date: 2004-11-16
Encyclopedia of Aquaculture by Call Number: SH20.3.E53 2000 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0471291013Publication Date: 2000-04-10
Encyclopedia of Endangered SpeciesCall Number: QH75.A1E53 yr.1994 Journal - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REF
The Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition by Call Number: Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 0851993699Publication Date: 2004-05-26
Encyclopedia of Insects by Call Number: QL462.3.E565 2003 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0125869908Publication Date: 2003-03-19
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Call Number: QL713.2.E53 2009 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 9780123735539Publication Date: 2008-11-24
Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians by Call Number: QL644.E53 1998 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - FOLIOISBN: 0121785602Publication Date: 1998-07-22
Encyclopedia of the World's Zoos by Call Number: QL76.E53 2001 v.1 Book - Paul Robeson Library (Camden) - REFISBN: 1579581749Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life by Call Number: QL120.E63 2005 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0192806742Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Call Number: Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 9780787677503Publication Date: 2002-10-04
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals by Call Number: QL701.G7913 1990 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0079095089Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Life on Earth : An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution by Call Number: QH541.15.B56L54 2002 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 157607286XPublication Date: 2002-12-17
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Birds by Call Number: QL672.2.P75 2009 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 9780691140704Publication Date: 2009-03-01
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Mammals by Call Number: QL701.2.P75 2009 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 9780691140698Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Handbooks, Manuals & Guides
Animal Anatomy on File by Call Number: QL812.5A55 1990 - Library Annex Storage Facility (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0816022445Publication Date: 1990-03-01
Animal Behaviour: A Concise Introduction by Call Number: QL751.R52 1986 Book - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0632014164Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Animal Identification : A Reference Guide by Call Number: QL351.A54 v. 1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0471277657Publication Date: 1980-09-01
The Birds of North AmericaCall Number: QL681.B625 NO. 1/20 1992 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKS
Fundamentals of Entomology by Call Number: QL463.E48 2000 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0130114936Publication Date: 1999-06-11
A Guide to Observing Insect Lives by Call Number: QL496.S86 1983 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0316817244Publication Date: 1983-03-01
A Guide to the Zoological Literature: The Animal Kingdom by Call Number: QL45.2.B45 1994 - Library Annex Storage Facility (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 1563080826Publication Date: 1994-08-15
Handbook of Avian Body Masses by Call Number: QL697.D86 1993 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0849342589Publication Date: 1992-10-05
Handbook of Ethological Methods by Call Number: QL751.L398 1996 - Paul Robeson Library (Camden) - STACKSISBN: 0521554055Publication Date: 1996-09-26
Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science by Call Number: QL55.H36 2011 v.1 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 9781420084559Publication Date: 2010-12-02
Handbook of Livestock Management by Call Number: SF65.2.B38 1998 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0132564130Publication Date: 1997-05-21
Handbook of the Birds of the World by Call Number: QL677.H36 1992 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REF-FOISBN: 8487334105Publication Date: 1992-01-01IUCN Red List of Threatened Animals
Call Number: QL81.5.I92 yr.1990 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REF
