Animal Science

Agricola covers all aspects of agriculture including: agriculture, agronomy, animal science, biology, biotechnology, botany, breeding, chemistry, conservation, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, farm management, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, forestry, horticulture, hydrology, hydroponics, microbiology, nutrition, pesticides, physiology, plant science, pollution, soil science, water quality, and zoology. Agricola contains citations to over 3.7 million records, both in English and non-English.

This database is appropriate for any researcher working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection and immunity in man, other animals and plants. This database is a relevant resource for microbiologists as well as research professionals in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology and other related fields.

This database is appropriate for scientists in behavioral and related studies. It covers significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.

Focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields, this database provides information on cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackishwater species. Covers the planned management of aquatic organisms.

This is a freely accessible website useful for identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing.

Provides coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms including marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and their environments.

CAB Abstracts, a subset of CAB Direct, is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in: Animal and Veterinary Sciences, including animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and equine science

Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. Environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution are included.

This database provides recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology; with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans and terrestrial isopods. From the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species, Entomology Abstracts gathers and summarizes all the latest information on millions of insects and insect-like species.

Allows the user to search across multiple NCBI databases. Returns results with number of hits listed by resource. The Entrez system comprises 40 molecular and literature databases. New databases are added as biomedical science advances and new kinds of data become available.

This database provides a practical means for keeping up with wide-ranging findings that are important to scientists own studies, sifting the worldwide literature for significant advances as they happen and forging an essential link among different systems. Subject coverage includes: molecular genetics, chromosomes, extrachromosomal genetics, cell cycle, developmental and evolutionary genetics, and related topics.

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

Oceanic Abstracts covers the worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

The collection contains aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA). Subject coverage includes: Aquaculture, Aquatic organisms, Aquatic pollution, Brackish water environments, Conservation, Environmental quality, Fisheries, Freshwater environments, Limnology, Marine biotechnology, Marine environments, Meteorology, Oceanography, Policy and legislation, and Wildlife management.

The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.

ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.

It contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles) and health sciences (6,800+ titles), followed by the life sciences (4,300+ titles), and finally the social sciences & humanities (5,300+ titles).

International coverage of a wide range of scientific literature. This database also offers cited reference searching.

A consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

Frontiers in Zoology is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal publishing high quality research articles and reviews on all aspects of animal life.

Free full-text online journal in comparative animal physiology. It covers the form and function of living organisms at all levels of biological organisation, from the molecular and subcellular to the integrated whole animal. Coverage dates from 1923 to present.

The Global Raptor Information Network (“GRIN”) is designed to provide information on diurnal raptors (hawks, eagles, and falcons) and to facilitate communication between raptor researchers and organizations interested in the conservation of these species.

SORA is the world's first and largest open access ornithological publications archive.

ZooKeys is a peer-reviewed, open-access, online and print, rapidly produced journal launched to support free exchange of ideas and information in systematic zoology, phylogeny and biogeography.

A searchable database of U.S. Department of Agriculture funded research. The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture.

DataONE is a collaboration among many partner organizations, and is funded by the US National Science Foundation (NSF) to develop a repository for observational data in environmental science crossing discipline boundaries of ecology, oceanography, meteorology, water, etc.

FishBase, a global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fishes. FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.

KNB is an international repository intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research. The data originate from a highly-distributed set of field stations, laboratories, research sites, and individual researchers.

The WAHID Interface provides access to all data held within OIE's new World Animal Health Information System (WAHIS). It replaces and significantly extends the former web interface named Handistatus II System.