Certified Public Manager Program

For JerseyClicks databases:  Go to jerseyclicks.org.  If off-campus, sign in with your public library barcode.  Select the database you want.  For frustration-free searching, limit searches to full text.  JerseyClicks is brought to you by the New Jersey State Library.

New Jersey state employees:  You have remote access to specialized databases through the State Library (https://www.njstatelib.org/research_library/electronic_resources/databases/)

I.  Management and Public Policy

• Business Source Elite (JerseyClicks version) -- Full text for many scholarly and non-scholarly journals in public administration and nonprofit management

II.  Education

• ERIC (JerseyClicks version) -- Indexes periodical articles and reports for educators; includes educational administration
• ERIC (Free online) -- Source for many full-text education reports; sponsored by the Federal Government.

III. Grantsmanship

• Guidestar.org (Free Online) -- Free search tool about charities, nonprofits, and foundations from Candid, a combinattion of the Foundation Center and GuideStar.    
• Candid Learning -- Grant how-to's from Candid.  Many items are completely free of charge.  Stay up to date with the Candid Learning Blog.

IV. Health Care

• MedlinePlus -- Consumer health information vetted by health professionals from the US Government
• PubMed (Free online) -- Public version of the MEDLINE indexing/abstracting database.  Little full text, but some free articles

V.  Law and Criminal Justice

• Digital Commons Network:  Law Commons  -- Open site for scholarly, full-text items from law reviews and other credible sources
• National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS) (Free online) -- From the U.S. Department of Justice.  Advanced Search allows you to limit to full text and government websites.
• Homeland Security Digital Library -- Free government database focusing on policing, security, and counter-terrorism.

VI. Social Sciences and Social Problems

• Academic Search Premier (JerseyClicks) -- Covers many different subjects; indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly items.  Can limit to scholarly and full-text.
• PolicyMap (trial version) -- Online data and mapping application; includes data on real estate as well as loads of government data.  Sign up for a seven-day free trial.
• Shorenstein Center at Harvard -- Credible background material on emerging social and political policy issues.  Journalist's Resource provides background reports on emerging topics.  Research publications offer a variety of research sources from the Center.  Many research publications, background reports, and websites listed are free and open.
• Social Explorer (free version) -- Interactive mapping for population data.
• Social Science Research Network -- Open site for scholarly papers in numerous areas of the social sciences and humanities, including economics, entrepreneurship, leadership, management, and political science.  Free registration required.  Only a portion of the papers are free; others require a paid subscription.

VII. Transportation

• Business Source Elite (JerseyClicks) -- Many articles on topics like mass transit and highway planning in addition to transportation as a business
• TRID:  the TRIS and ITRD Database (Free online) -- "Covers all modes and disciplines of transportation" -- from the website.  Transportation Research Thesaurus standardizes terms for TRID searching.

VIII. A Little of Everything

• Google Scholar (Open version)  -- Extensive index to scholarly material in just about any subject.  Some items available free in full text.
• Academic Search Premier (JerseyClicks) -- Covers many different subjects; indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly items.  Can limit to scholarly and full-text.
• Digital Commons Network -- Includes “peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.” – from the site
• Rutgers Alumni Databases Guide by Natalie Borisovets -- List of free databases on the Internet that allow you to go deeper than the "once over lightly" of general search engines.  Includes many subjects.