Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Herbals & Supplemets
Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID)
(National Institute of Health) The Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID) provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the U.S. The DSID is intended primarily for research applications. DSID has been developed by the Nutrient Data Laboratory within the Agricultural Research Service, in collaboration with the Office of Dietary Supplements at NIH and other federal agencies.
Dietary Supplements Fact Sheets
From the National Institute of Health
Dietary Supplement Label Database
From the National institute of Health; Office of Dietary Supplements
Evidence Based Review Program
In FY 2001, the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) received a Congressional mandate to review the current scientific evidence on the efficacy and safety of dietary supplements and identify research needs. ODS responded by developing an evidence-based review program using the Evidence-based Practice Centers Program established by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to conduct systematic reviews of the scientific literature and prepare reports of their findings.
An interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an impartial, evidence-based information resource provided by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc. This public site provides access to 20 of the most popular herbs.
MedlinePlus: Herbs & Supplements
Information drawn from Natural Standard.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine - Herbs at a Glance
CAM subset on PubMed > Your literature search will be automatically limited to the complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) subset of PubMed.
PubMed Dietary Supplements Subset
ODS and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) partnered to create this Dietary Supplement Subset of NLM's PubMed. PubMed provides access to citations from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources.
The subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.
Alternative Therapy Websites