Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. It allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, and review textbooks. Integrated case studies, care plans, self-assessment tools, and NAPLEX review help students to develop and track key skills. The database includes monthly updates by the editors of Pharmacotherapy and Goodman & Gilman's, bi-monthly Hot Topic responses to key articles, daily news from the Pharmacotherapy News Network, drug monographs, and the Herb and Supplement Database.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
The Cochrane Library
Focusing on high quality evidence to support health care providers in their clinical decision making, the Cochrane Library includes 6 databases which may be searched as a group or individually. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes more than 4,650 reviews and 2,015 protocols which have been prepared by a highly credentialed group to determine if an intervention for a specific disease or other problem is effective. The reviews include a summary of research results from random controlled trials, the group's meta-analysis, links to references, and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing,
Drug Information Portal
This is a freely accessible website from the National Library of Medicine gives the public, healthcare professionals, and researchers a gateway to current, accurate and understandable drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. Links to the following resources contribute to the search results: MedlinePlus®, AIDSinfo®, Medline/PubMed®, LactMed, HSDB®, Dietary Supplements Labels Database, TOXLINE®, DailyMed®, ClinicalTrials.gov, PubChem, NIAID Anti-HIV/OI Database, ChemIDplus®, Drugs@FDA, DEA, and USA.gov. A link on the top right of the website allows one to go to a “Mobile Site.”
A "Just-In-Time" clinical reference tool integrating evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics. DynaMed for PDA is now available. To obtain a serial number email DynaMedsupport@ebscohost.com from your University email account (no other email accounts will be accepted) requesting a serial number for your PDA device, or, ask for a serial number from your campus library's information desk.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) database is the primary source for drug information. It provides worldwide coverage of pharmacology, pharmacy and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Produced by Thomson Scientific since 2005 (prior to that it was produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, IPA citations come from approximately 750 journals and all U.S. state pharmacy journals. IPA provides comprehensive information for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice. A unique feature of the abstracts included for clinical studies is the inclusion of the study design, number of patients, dosage, dosage forms and dosage schedule.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. The database contains more than 12 million citations from 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database contains over 1,000 evidence-based monographs on natural medicines. Compiled by clinicians, these monographs provide in depth information for each natural medicine product. This information, appropriate for patient care situations, includes: common, as well as colloquial names, brand names, scientific names, product uses, safety, effectiveness, description of known constituents, pharmacological actions, adverse reactions, possible interactions, any influence on nutrient levels and depletion in the body after use of the substance(s), dosage and administration, and reference citations. Also available in this database is a clinical management series on topics such as: obesity, depression, colds and flu, osteoporosis, menopause, chronic fatigue syndrome and others. Both basic and advanced searching is available.
The PDR is the most recognized drug information reference source in the U.S. The searcher can type in the drug name or browse a list of drugs. This website also includes a list of clinical articles selected by a team of physicians. This team of editors reviews articles published in over 2,000 medical journals and the popular press. Within 24 hours of publication, the team writes a summary of each article, sorts it into 35 specialties and 800 subspecialties, and ranks it for its clinical relevance.
The PharmGKB is a pharmacogenomics knowledge resource that encompasses clinical information including dosing guidelines and drug labels, potentially clinically actionable gene-drug associations and genotype-phenotype relationships.
PubMed, available via the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez life sciences retrieval system, was developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutues of Health (NIH). Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE. PubMed coverage also includes the following:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review
OXLINE offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.
Major areas of coverage include: Air pollution, Antidotes, Biological and adverse effects of drugs, Carcinogenesis via chemicals, Chemically-induced diseases, Environmental chemicals and pollutants, Food additives, Genotoxicity, Hazardous materials, Health and safety, Human and animal toxicity, Industrial and household chemicals, Mutagenicity Pesticides and herbicides, Radioactive materials, Risk information.
Study guides for Dosing Information
PN Dosage Proficiency Exam Study Guide
This study 2012 guide is for Practical Nursing (PN) and Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) students to assist
them in preparing for the PN Dosage Proficiency Exam (DPE).
The web site provides a list of nursing calculators. Each calculator, along with examples and formulas, provides a unique way to review nursing math. These calculators are featured on Nurseweek.com and soon to be part of Nursingbar.com.