Drug Information

Bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource from Canada

U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM ) product useful for integrating drug vocabularies in and across electronic health information systems
Includes brand and generic drug names and relational drug information such as NDCs (National Drug Codes

A resource to help you make the best decisions and get the most from the medical services available to you

The list below provides information gathered from press releases and other public notices about certain recalls of FDA-regulated products. Not all recalls have press releases or are posted on this page.

News feed for researchers in the life sciences and researchers in other health fields

"Recently Approved Drugs/Indications", cases with CME credit, medical conference information, webcasts/CME on drug topics

Website accessible from MDLinx portal

News on diseases and therapies, also coverage of conferences

Links to popular pharmacy magazines such as U.S. Pharmacist

National Institutes of Health site on HIV drugs and vaccine information

Professional and patient package inserts on drugs--by brand name, generic name, manufacturer and therapeutic class

U.S. government portal to cosmetics, drug, food, radiological, tobacco products vaccine and veterinary products information

Joint effort of First DataBank, the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and Medscape that has drug information by drug name or disease

Drug resources from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

The Drug Information Database sponsored by phactMI. The Drug Information (DI) database is a compendium of evidence-based answers to healthcare professional questions.

phactMI, is a non-profit collaboration of Drug Information Leaders dedicated to supporting healthcare professionals.

Extensive links of Internet resources for drug information by categories such as compounding, drug identification, nutraceuticals, pediatric medication resources and pharmacoeconomics

Drug and dietary supplements information

MotherToBaby is a service of the non-profit Organization of Teratology Information Specialists, the professional scientific society that is comprised of experts in the field of birth defects prevention. They have patient-friendly fact sheets in English and Spanish on many medications, maternal health conditions, infections, vaccines, and other common exposures.

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

These sheets are comprehensive and cover essential details such as chemical properties, potential health and environmental hazards, recommended protective measures, as well as safety precautions for proper storage, handling, and transportation of chemicals.

The Fact Sheets are prepared for substances on the New Jersey Right to Know Hazardous Substance List. More than 1,600 Fact Sheets have been completed and more than 900 have been translated into Spanish. The Fact Sheets are prepared on pure substances and contain information on health hazards, exposure limits, personal protective equipment, proper handling, first aid, and emergency procedures for fires and spills.

Identify unknown pill by imprint code, shape and color, or medication name