Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Finding Tests and Measures : Topic Specific

Topic Specific Information on Tests and Measures

Assessing Alcohol Problems: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers
This resource is organized into the following domains: screening, diagnosis, assessment of drinking behavior, adolescent assessment, treatment and planning, and outcome evaluation. Each domain is covered in a chapter by an expert and an appendix contains fact sheets on the instruments. The electronic version does not have the actual measures; however, they are contained in print versions located at DANA, LSM, and the Center of Alcohol Studies Library.

Assessment of Family Violence
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN Ref. HV6626.F45 2003
The first part of this book discusses issues in the assessment of family violence. The remainder of the book discusses measures covering the assessment of children, parents, caregivers, and families. Information provided for each measure includes development of the measure and target population, format, administration and scoring, psychometric evaluation, orignal source reference, source for obtaining the assessment tool, and related references.

Assessment of Partner Violence: A Handbook for Researchers and Practitioners
ALEXANDER Ref. RC560.S44R38 2004
Like its companion volume described above, the first part of this handbook discusses issues in assessment including clinical and research uses and a review of psychometric principles. The second part of the volume describes direct measures of partner violence as well as measures pertaining to risk factors, correlates, and sequelae of partner violence. Information provided for each measure includes development of the measure and target population, format, administration and scoring, psychometric information such as norms, validity, reliability, original source reference, source for obtaining the measure, and related references.

Compendium of Psychosocial Measures: Assessment of People with Serious Mental Illness in the Community
LSM Stacks RC473.P79J64 2010
The measures described are intended for use with people with severe mental illness who live in the community.  Information provided includes purpose, reliability and validity and source.

ETS Test Collection Catalog 6 vols. 1986-1992
ALEXANDER, DANA, LSM Ref. LB3051.E79
Each volume is an index to measures that cover a particular psychological, social, or environmental dimension or population such as achievement, attitudes, cognitive aptitude, etc. The tests described in this resource are part of the test collection database of the Educational Testing Service. Availability information is included. TestLink is the entire ETS test collection database and it is an index to more than 25,000 tests and research instruments from the early 1900's to the present. Please note that Tests in Microfiche is a subset of the entire ETS collection-see under Resources with Tests.

Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
CAMDEN, DANA Ref. HM253.B43 1990; ALEXANDER Stacks HM253.B43 1990
Describes 211 scales that emphasize gender roles and attitudes and covers topics such as work and employment, marriage, parenting, and child-rearing. Scoring, reliability and validity information, two sample items, comments, and a list of articles that use tha measure are included. Available from section notes where the scales can be found or obtained, and this may be a journal, the author or a commerical publisher.

Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
ALEXANDER Ref. RC473.P78H36 2010
The full range of psychiatric disorders are covered in brief but thorough chapters, each of which provides a concise review of measurement issues related to the relevant condition, along with recommendations on which dimensions to measure – and when.  Some actual measures are included.

Handbook of Violence Risk Assessment
ALEXANDER Ref. HM1116.H363
Risk assessment instruments are described, including development, population used, reliability and validity, and limitations of the tools.

Measuring Self-Concept Across the Life Span: Issues and Instrumentation
CAMDEN Stacks BF697.5.S43B97 1996
This source provides descriptive and psychometric information on 24 instruments. The target population, scale structure, administration and scoring procedures, reliability and validity properties are discussed. A sample item is provided, as well as, source information and an evaluation summary.

Measuring Suicidal Behavior and Risk in Children and Adolescents
ALEXANDER Stacks RJ506.S9.G65 2003
An overview about measuring suicidal behaviors and risk, including conceptual and definitional issues, is the focus of the first two chapters of this book. The remainder of the book presents information on detection instruments and risk assessment measures. The target population, psychometric properties, and treatment studies are discussed for each instrument. Where to obtain the measure is also provided. An appendix presents decision trees for choosing instruments for assessing suicidal behavior and risk.

Measurements for Long-Term Care: A Guidebook for Nurses
CAMDEN, DANA Stacks RT120.L64B4 1998
More than 100 entries that include title, author, brief description of the instrument, psychometric properties, scoring information, source of the instrument.

Practitioner's Guide to Empirically Based Measures of School Behavior  Available online and in print!
Reviews of approximately 100 measures are included in this resource. Instruments include structured interviews, rating scales, and observational methods. The purpose, population, administration/scoring, and psychometric properties are discussed. The source of the measure is also provided.

Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
LSM Ref. BF692.B38 1990; DANA, DOUGLASS Stacks BF692.B38 1990
Describes 197 scales related to interpersonal and sexuality topics such as abortion, contraception, body image, pregnancy, etc. Scoring, reliability and validity information, 2 sample items, comments, and a list of articles that use the measure are included. Available from section notes where the scales can be found or obtained and this may be a journal, the author or a commercial publisher.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.