Digital Humanities
A resource guide for learning about and starting projects in the Digital Humanities
Digital Humanities Librarian
Francesca Giannetti
she/her
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Naomi Gold
Contact:
Liaison to the RU-N Writing Program, Nursing EOF Program, Anthropology, Nursing, Philosophy, Psychology, Religious Studies, and Sociology.
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
naomi.gold@rutgers
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
naomi.gold@rutgers
Subjects: Writing & Citation
What is Digital Humanities?
There's no simple answer to the question, "What is Digital Humanities?" Practitioners often define Digital Humanities differently depending upon their own activity. Roughly defined, Digital Humanities is the practice of incorporating technology in teaching, research and the dissemination of scholarship in any of the traditional humanities disciplines. There are four main areas of activity in the Digital Humanities: Research and development for analyzing humanities data and creating new tools for that analysis, the use of technology in humanities pedagogy, theory and critical inquiry related to the ways in which technology is changing the way we understand our selves, our cultures and our societies and preservation and access of materials and scholarly works in the humanities.
In the rest of this guide, you'll find links to help you learn more about this growing, multi-disciplinary community of practice.
-
The Chronicle of Higher Education: The Humanities, Done Digitally Fitzpatrick, Kathleen. “The Humanities, Done Digitally.” The Chronicle of Higher Education 57, no. 36 (2011).
-
MLA Guidelines for Evaluating Work in Digital HumanitiesThe Modern Language Association's new guidelines for evaluating work in Digital Humanities for hiring, reappointment, tenure, and promotion. Last revised 2012.
-
AHA Guidelines on the Professional Evaluation of Digital Scholarship by HistoriansAmerican Historical Association guidelines, published in 2015.
DH Spotlight: Living Nations, Living Words
Living Nations, Living Words
An ArcGIS StoryMaps project mapping First People's poetry in the U.S. The project is hosted by the Library of Congress and created by Joy Harjo, 23rd Poet Laureate Consultant of the United States. Harjo is a member of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation.
New DH Books in the Libraries
-
Black Girl Autopoetics : Agency in Everyday Digital Practice
by
Exploring the intersections of digital humanities and African diaspora studies How can scholars use digital tools to better understand the African diaspora across time, space, and disciplines? And how can African diaspora studies inform the practices of digital humanities? These questions are at the heart of this timely collection of essays about the relationship between digital humanities and Black Atlantic studies, offering critical insights into race, migration, media, and scholarly knowledge production. The Digital Black Atlantic spans the African diaspora's range--from Africa to North America, Europe, and the Caribbean--while its essayists span academic fields--from history and literary studies to musicology, game studies, and library and information studies. This transnational and interdisciplinary breadth is complemented by essays that focus on specific sites and digital humanities projects throughout the Black Atlantic. Covering key debates, The Digital Black Atlantic asks theoretical and practical questions about the ways that researchers and teachers of the African diaspora negotiate digital methods to explore a broad range of cultural forms including social media, open access libraries, digital music production, and video games. The volume further highlights contributions of African diaspora studies to digital humanities, such as politics and representation, power and authorship, the ephemerality of memory, and the vestiges of colonialist ideologies. Grounded in contemporary theory and praxis, The Digital Black Atlantic puts the digital humanities into conversation with African diaspora studies in crucial ways that advance both. Contributors: Alexandrina Agloro, Arizona State U; Abdul Alkalimat; Suzan Alteri, U of Florida; Paul Barrett, U of Guelph; Sayan Bhattacharyya, Singapore U of Technology and Design; Agata Bloch, Institute of History of Polish Academy of Sciences; Michal Bojanowski, Kozminski U; Sonya Donaldson, New Jersey City U; Anne Donlon; Laurent Dubois, Duke U; Amy E. Earhart, Texas A&M U; Schuyler Esprit, U of the West Indies; Demival Vasques Filho, U of Auckland, New Zealand; David Kirkland Garner; Alex Gil, Columbia U; Kaiama L. Glover, Barnard College, Columbia U; D. Fox Harrell, MIT; Hélène Huet, U of Florida; Mary Caton Lingold, Virginia Commonwealth U; Angel David Nieves, San Diego State U; Danielle Olson, MIT; Tunde Opeibi (Ope-Davies), U of Lagos, Nigeria; Jamila Moore Pewu, California State U, Fullerton; Anne Rice, Lehman College, CUNY; Sercan Sengün, Northeastern U; Janneken Smucker, West Chester U; Laurie N.Taylor, U of Florida; Toniesha L. Taylor, Texas Southern U.
ISBN: 1478027738Publication Date: 2024 -
Digital Editing and Publishing in the Twenty-First Century
by
Despite recent calls to explore the full potential of digital text, digital scholarly editing and publishing remain rooted in the cultural and structural logics of print. This volume provides a wide range of perspectives on the current state and future of the field in an effort to further that dialogue, and to encourage continued exploration of how we make and share knowledge and meaning in the digital age. Digital editing and publishing in the twenty-first century brings together twenty chapters that cover practical design processes and conceptual approaches to editing born-digital material. The collection also engages with timely, important, and often-neglected topics, including accessibility, artificial intelligence, queer approaches to editing, and the data edition. By recognising the valuable insights and knowledge that can be gained from scholarly digital editions and by understanding the opportunities of their creative use, this volume emphasises how they can be made more widely available and relevant in various contexts beyond academia.
ISBN: 9781917341059Publication Date: 2025-04-29 -
Feminist Digital Humanities
by
Feminist digital humanities offers opportunities for exploring, exposing, and revaluing marginalized forms of knowledge and enacting new processes for creating meaning. Lisa Marie Rhody and Susan Schreibman present essays that explore digital humanities practice as rich terrain for feminist creativity and critique. The editors divide the works into three categories. In the first section, contributors offer readings that demonstrate how feminist thought can be put into operation through digital practice or via analytical approaches, methodologies, and interpretations. A second section structured around infrastructure considers how technologies of knowledge creation, publication, access, and sharing can be formed or reformed through feminist values. The final section focuses on pedagogies and proposes feminist strategies for preparing students to become critical and confident readers with and against technologies. Aimed at readers in and out of the classroom, Feminist Digital Humanities reveals the many ways scholars have pushed beyond critique to practice digital humanities in new ways. Contributors: Daniela Agostinho, Monika Barget, Jenny Bergenmar, Susan Brown, Tanya E Clement, Katrine Dirckinck-Holmfeld, Jaime Lee Kirtz, Cecilia Lindhé, Laura Mandell, Lisa Marie Rhody, Mark Sample, Susan Schreibman, Andie Silva, Nikki L. Stevens, Ravynn K. Stringfield, Dhanashree Thorat, Nanna Bonde Thylstrup, Kristin Veel, Astrid von Rosen, and Jacqueline Wernimont
Call Number: HQ1190.F447 2025ISBN: 9780252088506Publication Date: 2025-04-08 -
The Routledge Companion to Libraries, Archives, and the Digital Humanities
by
The Routledge Companion to Libraries, Archives, and the Digital Humanities covers a wide range of issues encountered in the world's libraries and archives as they continue to expand their support of, and direct engagement in, Digital Humanities (DH) research and teaching. In addition to topics related to the practice of librarianship, and to libraries and archives as DH-friendly institutions, we address issues of importance to library and archives workers themselves: labour, sustainability, organisation and infrastructure, and focused professional practices that reflect the increasingly important role of librarians and archivists as active research partners. One of the central motifs of this book is that the "two" fields--DH, on the one hand, and the library, archival, and information sciences on the other--are in fact deeply intertwined, productively interdependent, and mutually reinforcing. We place these on an equal footing, considering how they coexist and collaborate in equal partnership. This Companion will be of interest to DH practitioners and theorists, especially those who work in libraries and archives, and those who work with them. Likewise, "non-DH" (or "not-yet-DH") library and archival administrators, reference and public service librarians, cataloguers, and even those who work primarily with the tangible collections will find here echoes and implications of the most venerable traditions and practices of our shared profession. The Introduction of the book is free-to-view at https://www.book2look.com/book/hpV4zdnW6q. Chapter 8 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license. Chapter 14 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license. Chapter 17 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license. Chapter 18 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9781040184004Publication Date: 2024-12-02
Finding Resources on Digital Humanities
Try performing a subject (advanced) search in Quicksearch using the following subject headings. Limit by resource type = book and sort by publication date, as needed.
Digital Humanities Journals
Below are a list of professional and scholarly journals published by the Digital Humanities community.
-
Digital Humanities QuarterlyIssues going back to 2007. Available online.
-
Digital Scholarship in the HumanitiesAn international journal which publishes original contributions on all aspects of digital scholarship in the Humanities including, but not limited to, the field of what is currently called the Digital Humanities.
-
Digital Studies / Le champ numériqueA refereed academic journal that serves as an Open Access area for formal scholarly activity and as a resource for researchers in the Digital Humanities. It is published for the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organisations under the direction of the Canadian Society for Digital Humanities/Société canadienne des humanités numériques (CSDH/SCHN) by the Open Library of the Humanities.
-
First MondayIssues going back to 1996. Available online.
-
Journal of Interactive Technology and PedagogyThe mission of JITP (ISSN 2166-6245) is to promote open scholarly discourse around critical and creative uses of digital technology in teaching, learning, and research.