Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Urban Entrepreneurship (29:382:342) (22:620:672): Food Insecurity

Web Resources

Feeding America

"In a country that wastes billions of pounds of food each year, it's almost shocking that anyone in America goes hungry. Yet every day, there are millions of children and adults who do not get the meals they need to thrive. We work to get nourishing food – from farmers, manufacturers, and retailers – to people in need."--from the website

Hunger & Health:  Feeding America

Separate website for the Feeding America advocacy organization;source of both training and informaiton.

Community Food Bank of New Jersey

A large organization to distribute food to the huingry located in Irvington, New Jersey.  There are many such programs throughout the United States that do fundraising and work collaboratively with restaurants, grocery stories, and food wholesalers to distribute food.

Rutgers Against Hunger (RAH)

"Rutgers Against Hunger (RAH) is a universitywide initiative working to address the issues of hunger across the state of New Jersey."--from the website

The pantry RUN

"PantryRUN provides free food to any Rutgers University student or employee who has difficulty affording sufficient food to eat a balanced diet every day"--from the website

 

 

Best Bet Databases

  • Business Source Premier (Business and Management) -- full text for many scholarly journals in public administration and nonprofit management
  • CIAO (International Affairs) -- Columbia International Affairs Online -- a collection of reports, conferences, journals and other publications from think tanks and international associations plus selected books on international affairs
  • CQ Researcher -- weekly reports on "hot topics" from Congressional Quarterly, Inc.  This is not scholarly publishing, but informative nevertheless.
  • EconLit (Economics) -- includes economists' views and studies of many social issues, including health care, poverty, and homelessness
  • Foundation Directory Online (Professional)--A place to look for external funders and potential partners in social ventures
  • PolicyMap -- Online data and mapping application; includes data on real estate
  • ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection --Interdisciplinary search of numerous databases such as PAIS,Worldwide Political Science AbstractsSocial Services AbstractsProQuest Criminal Justice, and others.  You can place exact phrases in quotation marks, such as "public management" or "civic engagement".
  • Sociological Abstracts -- 1963-present
  • Statista -- "Statista gathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases."--from the library introduction page

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.