Skip to main content
U.S. Government Agencies
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA’s mission is to assure the safety and health of America’s workers by setting and enforcing standards; providing training, outreach, and education; establishing partnerships; and encouraging continual process improvement in workplace safety and health.
As you can see, there are a number of U.S. government agencies that administer safety and health laws and regulations and which collect statistics on occupational health in the U.S. The amount of information can be overwhelming. If you don't know the agency that governs the area which you are researching, try using Search.USA.gov , a specialized search engine.
National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
NIOSH provides national and world leadership to prevent work-related illness, injury, disability, and death by gathering information, conducting scientific research, and translating the knowledge gained into products and services, including scientific information products, training videos, and recommendations for improving safety and health in the workplace.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC′s mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
This site provides statistics which include, employee benefits statistics easily located by selecting A-Z index upper right hand corner on upper blue bar running horizontally across the home page. Many other types of relevant statistics are available and can be chosen from the home page or through this same index.
Department of Labor
This is a huge web site. You can find FAQ’s and full text of laws & regulations on wages and hours, workplace safety & health, retirement & health benefits, union membership, plus information on regulations that affect hiring and termination practices. DOL full-text publications include the Occupational Outlook Handbook (see below) and the Monthly Labor Review. To find what you need, use the audience-oriented portals (left-hand of homepage) or the A – Z topic index.
Reports, briefs and research papers can be found on this site, covering areas such as poverty, health insurance, and income/median income under the heading, People & Households.
Department of Health and Human Services
"The United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves." Overseer of Medicare, Medicaid, and other programs.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
The GAO is known as “the investigative arm of Congress” and “the Congressional Watchdog”. GAO supports the Congress, provides oversight of federal programs, and publishes research reports on diverse public policy topics.
National Center for Health Statistics
Part of the Centers for Disease Control, the Center’s reports also include information on health insurance.
The source for all regulations (or rulemakings) issued by U.S. Government agencies. It includes regulations that are open for public comment (i.e., proposed) and closed for comment (i.e., final). This site also includes other non-rulemaking documents, such as Federal agency notices, supporting materials, public comments, and Federal agency guidance and adjudications.