Skip to main content
AFL-CIO: Safety and Health Sites
A list of websites relating to Occupational Safety and Health prepared by the AFL-CIO. Specific sections: union sites, COSH groups, government sites, chemical material data sheets, workers' compensation, state links, associations, labor organizations, international organizations, environmental, research tools, OSHA standards, occupational safety and health training, and ergonomics.
Here are some information resources that can be helpful when researching Occupational Safety and Health. These span from basic OSH information sources to specifics such as chemical safety and accident/disease prevention in the workplace. The titles listed here are all free, unless otherwise noted.
e-Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health (eLCOSH)
The Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health was developed and is maintained by Center for Construction Research and Training (CPWR). eLCOSH is intended to provide accurate, user-friendly information about safety and health for construction workers from a wide range of sources worldwide.
International Labour Organization: International Chemical Safety Cards
The International Chemical Safety Cards (ICSC) are data sheets intended to provide essential safety and health information on chemicals in a clear and concise way. The primary aim of the Cards is to promote the safe use of chemicals in the workplace and the main target users are therefore workers and those responsible for occupational safety and health.
Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet
A clearly written guide for finding MSDS on the web. This site also has an extensive Frequently Asked Questions section regarding their guide and MSDS in general.
Online Informational Databases
NIOSHTIC-2 is a searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by NIOSH. NIOSHTIC-2 contains 50,481 total citations.
The databases listed here contain medical, chemical, or legal information related to occupational safety and health. In some cases, they include citations of articles, but these are not "article databases", i.e., databases constructed for access to the fulltext of scholarly articles. Some of these databases are free, others are for Rutgers students and faculty.
International Labour Organization: CISDOC
The CISDOC bibliographic database contains about 70,000 citations of documents that deal with occupational accidents and diseases as well as ways of preventing them. The types of documents are: laws/regulations, data sheets, training material, articles from periodical publications, books and standards. Every record contains a detailed bibliographic description, a full abstract and indexing descriptors drawn from the CIS Thesaurus. The CISDOC database is updated continuously.
The Right-To-Know Network
The Right-to-Know Network provides free access to numerous databases and resources on the environment. With the information available on RTK NET, you can identify specific factories and their environmental effects; find permits issued under environmental statutes; and identify civil cases filed. Free