Skip to main content
Tips for Finding & Exploring Educational/Policy/Advocacy sites
- Whether the group is an educational/policy group, advocacy organization, or professional association, be sure to read the section of its web site that describes the mission and goals of the group. This is usually an "About us," link.
- Most educational/think tank/policy sites will have an "Issues" our "Topics" link-be sure to check this out.
- To find advocacy groups, think about trade or professional associations that may be invested in health care.
- Once you find an advocacy organization, look for links on its
website to "news alerts,", "legislation or legislative action,"
Research Organizations and Professional Associations
American Institutes for Research: Health
“AIR is one of the largest behavioral and social science research organizations in the world. Our overriding goal is to use the best science available to bring the most effective ideas and approaches to enhancing everyday life. “
California Workers' Compensation Institute (CWCI)
The California Workers’ Compensation Institute is a private, nonprofit organization of insurers licensed to write workers' compensation in California, as well as public and private self-insured employers, who serve as associate members. CWCI’s function is to generate reliable, objective data that can be used to identify and monitor system-wide trends, assist members in assessing their own operations, and to analyze key issues of interest to the workers’ compensation community and policymak
Center for Construction Research and Training (CPWR)
The Center for Construction Research and Training, formerly known as The Center to Protect Workers’ Rights (CPWR), is a non-profit organization created by the Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO. Since the inception of research initiatives in 1990, CPWR has become an international leader in applied research, training, and service to the construction industry.
Conning Research & Consulting
Conning Research & Consulting provides insurance industry analysis to insurers and industry stakeholders. Its published research includes market coverage of 30 segments of the industry in addition to industry forecasting and identification and analysis of major strategic issues.
Council on Employee Benefits
"CEB, founded in 1946, is composed of major corporations having a common interest in the management of employee benefits. "
Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
EPI is a well-known progressive think tank which publishes research and analysis on employment and public policy issues. Many of their publications and articles, plus data and graphs on employment and wage demographics, are available on their web site.
Employee Benefits Research Institute (EBRI)
EBRI aims "to contribute to, to encourage, and to enhance the development of sound employee benefit programs and sound public policy through objective research and education." The web site offers a wealth of research reports and articles on retirement, health insurance, and social security. The EBRI Databook on Employee Benefits can be downloaded by chapter.
Institute for Work & Health
The Institute for Work & Health is an independent, not-for-profit organization. Their mission is to conduct and share research that protects and improves the health of working people and is valued by policy-makers, workers and workplaces, clinicians, and health & safety professionals.
Insurance Information Institute
Workers' Compensation publications.
Kaiser Family Foundation
KFF is a non-profit foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S. Kaiser develops and runs its own research programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations. It publishes most of its reports online, and also acts as a clearinghouse for news and statistics about health care policy, including Medicaid and Medicare, State Policy, Minority Health, and Women's Health Policy.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell University)
The LII, from Cornell University Law School, is a well-known source for the text of national and state laws, Supreme Court Decisions, and other legal information. See the "Law about..." sections for overviews on the laws of Social Security, Medicaid, Medicare, and Health.
National Academy of Social Insurance
This is a non-profit, non-partisan organization made up of the nation's leading experts on social insurance. Its mission is to promote understanding and informed policy making on social insurance and related programs through research, public education, training, and the open exchange of ideas. Other key interest area include Medicare, worker's compensation, and unemployment insurance.
National Council on Compensation Insurance Holdings, Inc.
National Council on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (NCCI), based in Boca Raton, FL, manages the nation’s largest database of workers compensation insurance information. NCCI analyzes industry trends, prepares workers compensation insurance rate recommendations, determines the cost of proposed legislation, and provides a variety of services and tools to maintain a healthy workers compensation system.
National Health Policy Forum
The papers and reports of NHPF cover a broad range of health policy topics, such as coverage and access, federalism, Medicaid, Medicare, and children's health, as a means of increasing informed government decision making. Objectivity is maintained through it's initial participant-driven structure, current steering committee and in collaboration with the George Washington University.
Occupational Health and Safety Research Institute (IRSST)
The Occupational Health and Safety Research Institute (IRSST), located on Montreal, Canada, carries out scientific activities concentrated in seven research fields: accidents, chemical substances and biological agents, musculoskeletal disorders, noise and vibration, protective equipment, occupational rehabilitation, safety of industrial tools, machines and processes.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the word. Its work is carried out by eight projects, which include Pew Hispanic Center (http://pewhispanic.org/) and the Social & Demographic Trends project (http://pewsocialtrends.org/).
The RAND Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a global organization with offices throughout the world. Since 1948, RAND has operated as an independent nonprofit organization. Their mission is to help improve policy and decision making through research and analysis. Their research is commissioned by a global clientele that includes government agencies, foundations, and private-sector firms.
University at Buffalo - CIRRIE
The University at Buffalo Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) is developing a bibliographic database containing citations relating to rehabilitation research conducted outside of the United States. The database is free and available on the Internet at this site.
The W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research
The Institute is a nonprofit, independent research organization devoted to research on the causes and effects of unemployment and to study and investigate the feasibility and methods of insuring against unemployment and devise ways and means of preventing and alleviating the distress and hardship caused by unemployment. The Institute is an activity of the W.E. Upjohn Unemployment Trustee Corporation, which was established in 1932 to administer a fund set aside by Dr. W.E. Upjohn.
Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI)
WCRI is a nonprofit research organization that provides information about public policy issues involving workers' compensation systems. "Organized in late 1983, the Institute does not take positions on the issues it researches; rather, it provides information obtained through studies and data collection efforts, which conform to recognized scientific methods."