Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice: Issues in Juvenile Justice: FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES

Prof. Szejner, Criminal Justice

Useful Tips

  • Use the limiting features available in many databases to limit the results of your searches to scholarly peer-reviewed and to types of scholarly articles.

 

  • In Quicksearch, refine the results by "peer-reviewed journals" to retrieve scholarly sources.

 

  • Use the thesauri available in many database to help with search terms.

Indexes and Databases: Multidisciplinary

The following multidisciplinary indexes cover popular and scholarly articles in a range of subject areas.  Use the option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

Use QuickSearch to find materials available from the Rutgers Libraries, including books, journals, articles, music, movies, and more

Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.

Web of Science (Arts, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences)

Indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Indexes and Databases: Specialized

America: History and Life 

Indexes and abstracts books and journal articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.  For publications on the rest of the world, refer to Historical AbstractsProvides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals 

Abstracts in Anthropology

Comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of Anthropology. It indexes a broad spectrum of current anthropological topics and a large number of scholarly journals. Each volume includes approximately 3,000 abstracts, which are classified and fully indexed by author and subject. All areas of anthropological scholarship and its subfields are thoroughly covered, including cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.

AnthroSource

A collection of all past and current publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and conference proceedings. This includes the entire publication history of each title; the earliest journals in the collection date back to the late 19th century. In total, the collection contains over 300,000 full-text articles.

Anthropology Plus

These three sources cover extensive scholarly literature in social, cultural, biological, physical, and linguistic anthropology.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts

Covers journal literature in health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Communications &  Mass Media Complete

Covers journal articles in the areas of communications and mass media. Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

Criminal Justice Abstracts 

Contains indexing and summaries of international journal articles, books, dissertations, governmental and non-governmental reports, and unpublished papers.  Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

Medline 

Premiere source for biomedical journal literature and other selected publications.  Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journalsPubmed is a free government database that includes the literature in Medline as well as some added literature.  PubMed Central is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. 

PAIS International and Archive

Covers journal and non-journal literature in such areas as  economics, political science, public policy, law, public administration, and government.

PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

Index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other  mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

PsycInfo    

Academic literature, including books, book chapters, conference papers, and journal articles.  Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals

Sociological Abstracts   

Academic literature, including books, book chapters, and journal articles.  Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals

Westlaw Campus Research

Contains full text of court opinions, statues, regulations, law reviews and journals, legal reference sources, and selected newspapers.

About Me

Profile Photo
Triveni Kuchi
Contact:
Librarian for Sociology, Criminal Justice, Cinema, South Asian, and Middle Eastern Studies
New Brunswick Libraries,
Rutgers University - New Brunswick,
Carr Library, 75 Avenue E, Piscataway, NJ-08854
848-445-5733
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.