Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Grants for Graduate Students: Looking for funding sources

This guide offers resources for graduate students seeking external funding.

Rutgers GradFund

Rutgers GradFund is designed to help graduate students obtain external funding. 

Sign in to the site with your Net ID.

Pivot

Pivot is a database of funding opportunities for all disciplines and project types. It includes federal, non-federal, foundation, and private funding opportunities. Pivot also includes calls for papers (Papers Invited) and lists of funding awards already made for projects (Awards). After signing up for an individual account, you can claim and populate your own researcher profile in order to receive personalized recommendations and connect with other researchers.

https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/pivot

Pivot Start Guide

YouTube Channel

Writer/Artist Residencies

Acknowledgement

Librarian Erleen Harris contributed to the original version of this page.

Foundation Directory Online (Professional)

Foundation Directory Online  (Professional)  Rutgers-restricted access

Full database from Candid.org, an organization formed from the Foundation Center and GuideStar.  An iPhone app version is available for Rutgers students and faculty.

Features of FDO - Helpful explanations and videos for users

Additional Nonprofit Directories

  • Charity Navigator -- Rates charities on their financial efficiency as well as their accountability.  Includes historical data.  
  • GuideStar (Candid) -- Freemium.  Sign up for a free account to obtain basic information.  
  • Grants to Individuals Database  -- Paid subscription database for scholarshiops, fellowships, and awards form Candid.org

Forms 990

The Form 990 is an annual IRS filing required of nonprofit organizations, sort of the nonprofit equivalent of a Form 1040 for individuals.  Finding the 990 form you want can be a bit challenging, as any given website does not always make all years of the filings available. 

990 Finder (Candid.org)

More information about decoding and understanding the Form 990 can be found at  What is Form 990 or 990-PF? (Candid.org). 

Foundation Directory Online (Professional)  Rutgers-restricted access

A 990 search, including keyword search, is available from any search results page.  

Internal Revenue Service

Charities and Nonprofits: Copies of EO Returns Available

Page describes Forms 990 data available free or fee from the IRS and Amazon Web Services.

Amazon Web Services

Registry of Open Data on AWS: IRS 990 Filings

Includes file descriptions and tutorial for IRS 990 database free on AWS.

Economic Research Institute--990 Finder

ProPublica--Nonprofit Explorer.  Locates Forms 990 as well as mentions of other groups inside 990 filings.

Urban Institute. National Center for Charitable Statistics

Many kinds of data on nonprofits, including Forms 990.  Registration is free.\

 

Who's the Sponsor?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.