Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Grants for Graduate Students: Books

This guide offers resources for graduate students seeking external funding.

Using the University Libraries catalog to find books

   

Searching for e-Books owned by the University Libraries

In addition to the e-books in the University Libraries’ online catalog, there are several databases that include e-books.  At the present time, almost all of these e-books do not have records in the catalog so finding them will require separate searches of the databases.  You will find that most of the databases provide title and subject searching.  They offer multiple options to display the e-book such as pdf for downloading or reading the book online.  When you create an account, you will be able to save a list of the e-book titles you want to track for a while.  Some databases also provide an option to export book citations to a citation manager like EndNote or RefWorks. 

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)  A multidisciplinary database with approximately 1,600 books in nursing.  1985+

ProQuest Ebook Central  A multidisciplinary database with over 130,000 scholarly books available from many publishers.  About 500 titles in nursing are included.

HathiTrust Digital Library  Includes books, government publications and other publications as well as unpublished materials.  Reports from local, regional, national and international government agencies might be especially valuable when you are working on literature reviews.  While millions of items are included, not all are available in full-text.  Creating an account will increase the number of items you can display.  Others can be requested through the University Libraries’ Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Service.

JSTOR  Offers access to more than 50,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers. Focus is on arts, humanities and social sciences.  Searching and retrieval on the chapter level.

NCBI Bookshelf  An online searchable collection of full-text books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in the health and life sciences from the National Library of Medicine.  Approximately 4,300 titles describe medicine and nursing topics with 2,500 of interest to nurses.  The international roster of publishers includes the National Academy Press and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Requesting books unavailable through RUL

Using E-Z Borrow

When the University Libraries doesn’t own a book title you want or when the copy owned by the Libraries is not available to you (checked out or missing), you may request a copy using E-Z Borrow,a resource sharing consortium which includes forty academic libraries in Pennsylvania and a few out of state libraries like Rutgers.  When the book you want is unavailable, the online catalog provides an E-Z Borrow button to the right of the item description.  You may also find a link on the home page.  Just click on Services and Tools, the second choice on the red bar.  Then select the first choice on the left, Borrow/Renew/Request.  After loggin in with your netID and password, you may search the catalog using the brief search which is provided or clicking on Advanced Search at the top of the screen.  When you identify the book you want and place a request, the item will arrive in less than a week for you to check out.  You will receive an email when the book is ready for you to check out at the Circulation Desk.  You may borrow the book for a period of six weeks with a six week renewal.  

When E-Z Borrow doesn't own the book you want

As a benefit of Rutgers University's membership in the Big Ten, faculty and students have access to the collections of other member university libraries.  To learn more about UBorrow and to place a request, please look at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/uborrow.

University Libraries Toolbar

The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox browser extension that provides a drop-down menu to library resources, embedded library links on certain popular web pages such as Amazon.com, and new functionality to the "right- click menu" of your mouse.  Easy to install and easy to use.

Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Interim Nursing Librarian
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton@rutgers.edu
Website

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.