Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cambridge Guide to American Theatre. by
Call Number: Music REF PN2220.C35 1993
Brief entries for people, places, plays, genres, design and technical subjects. Illustrated, with an extensive bibliography in the back.
International Dictionary of Theatre by
Call Number: Music REF PN2035.I49 1992
Volume 1 covers Plays, Volume 2 Playwrights, Volume 3 Actors, Directors and Designers. Each volume has lengthy articles with bibliographical references.
Oxford Dictionary of Plays by
Call Number: Music REF PN1625.P38 2005
Synopses and brief commentaries "on the 1,000 most significant plays of world theatre." Includes indexes of characters and playwrights.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance by
Call Number: Music REF PN2035.O94 2003
Articles on nearly all aspects of international theater history and performance, heavily cross-referenced. Longer articles have selected bibliographic references.
Black Drama: 1850 to Present
A full-text database of about 1200 plays by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some are under copyright.
Digital Book Index
A searchable index to full-text books, including plays, available on the Web. Not all are free of charge.
EEBO - Early English Books Online
Books published in English through the 17th Century. Full page images.
EEBO - TCP
Books published in English through the 17th Century. Structured SGML/XML text editions.
The Online Books Page
This Web site provides easy access to over 20,000 books available without charge on the Internet, including many plays.
Free access to classic books, including plays.