Botany & Plant Sciences
This guide contains research resources for the study of botany and plant systematics.
Reference Books
Reference books are shelved in the Reference section of the library on the 1st Floor and are identified by the notation REF on their Call Number. Circulating books are marked Stacks in IRIS and are shelved on the 2nd Floor. The following are a few of the Botany and Plant Science reference books at LSM (and Chang).
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
-
The Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms
by
Call Number: QK10.H53 2000 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0521790808Publication Date: 2000-11-16 -
Compendium of Turfgrass Diseases
by
Call Number: SB608.T87S58 2005 - On Reserve - Ask at Circulation DeskISBN: 9780890543306Publication Date: 2005-01-01 -
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
by
Call Number: SB728.V525 2004 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 156022942XPublication Date: 2004-04-15 -
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Botany
by
Call Number: QK9.C67 1992 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0198661630Publication Date: 1992-10-22 -
Crc World Dictionary of Plant Names: Common Names, Scientific Names, Eponyms, Synonyms, and Etymology
by
Call Number: QK13.Q38 2000 v.1 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0849326737Publication Date: 1999-11-29 -
A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics
by
Call Number: QH540.4.L56 1998 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0521591392Publication Date: 1998-06-25 -
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
by
ISBN: 0865428387Publication Date: 1998-09-03 -
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
by
Call Number: SB45.E486 2004 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0824709446Publication Date: 2004-02-27 -
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
by
Call Number: S592.E517 2002 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 082470634XPublication Date: 2002-08-01 -
Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
by
Call Number: GF75.B5613 2000 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0787645060Publication Date: 1999-12-01 -
The Facts on File Dictionary of Botany
by
Call Number: QK9.F33 1984 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0871968614Publication Date: 1984-04-01 -
Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology
by
Call Number: QK45.2.G85 2006 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 1563089688Publication Date: 2006-01-03 -
Mabberley's Plant-Book : A Portable Dictionary of Plants, Their Classification and Uses
by
Call Number: QK11.M29 2008 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0521820715Publication Date: 2008-05-01 -
The New Royal Horticultural Society Dictionary of Gardening
by
Call Number: SB450.95.D53 1992 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 1561590010Publication Date: 1999-06-01 -
Plant-Book : A Portable Dictionary of the Vascular Plants
by
Call Number: QK11.M29 1997- Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0521414210Publication Date: 1997-06-19 -
Plant Biology Research and Training for the 21st Century
by
Call Number: QK51.2.U6N38 1992 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKS or Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 0309046793Publication Date: 1992-01-01 -
Plants and Their Names : A Concise Dictionary
by
Call Number: QK96.P35 1995 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0198661894Publication Date: 1995-04-20
Guides, Handbooks & Manuals
-
Applied Turfgrass Science and Physiology
by
Call Number: SB433.F75 2004 Book - RESV-CHANGISBN: 9780471472704Publication Date: 2004-08-05 -
Beacham Guide to Endangered Species of North America
by
Call Number: QH77.N56B43 2001 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REF or Rutgers Digital Library - ONLINEISBN: 9780787676919Publication Date: 2003-12-01 -
Carnivorous Plants of the United States and Canada
by
Call Number: QK917.S36 1976 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0910244901Publication Date: 1976-11-01 -
Color Atlas of Turfgrass Weeds : A Guide to Weed Identification and Control Strategies
by
Call Number: SB608.T87C644 2008 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780470189511Publication Date: 2008-01-28 -
Earthly Goods: Medicine-Hunting in the Rainforest
by
Call Number: RS164.J69 1994 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0316474088Publication Date: 1994-07-01 -
Esau's Plant Anatomy: Meristems, Cells, and Tissues of the Plant Body : Their Structure, Function, and Development
by
Call Number: QK671.E94 2006 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780471738435Publication Date: 2006-09-12 -
Ethnobotany: A Methods Manual
by
Call Number: GN476.73.M36 1995 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 041248370XPublication Date: 1995-12-31 -
Ethnobotany: Evolution of a Discipline
by
Call Number: GN476.73.E84 1995 Book - Archibald S. Alexander Library (College Avenue) - STACKSISBN: 0931146283Publication Date: 1995-07-15 -
Ethnobotany: Principles and Applications
by
Call Number: GN476.73.C67 1996 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 047195537XPublication Date: 1996-08-06 -
Flowers: How They Changed the World
by
Call Number: QK45.2.B87 2006 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9781591024071Publication Date: 2006-05-02 -
The Fungal Community: Its Organization and Role in the Ecosystem
by
Call Number: QK604.2.C64F86 2005 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0824723554Publication Date: 2005-05-24 -
Genetically Engineered Crops: Biotechnology, Biosafety and Benefits (Biotechnology in Agriculture, Industry and Medicine)
by
Call Number: SB123.57.G47845 2011 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9781611225266Publication Date: 2011-01-01 -
Handbook of Functional Plant Ecology
by
Call Number: QK901.H295 1999 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0824719506Publication Date: 1999-03-01 -
Handbook of Secondary Fungal Metabolites
by
Call Number: QR84.C646 2003 v.1 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0121794601Publication Date: 2003-06-25 -
Handbook of Statistics for Teaching and Research in Plant and Crop Science
by
Call Number: QK51.P35 2006 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 1560222921Publication Date: 2005-12-12 -
How to Identify Flowering Plant Families
by
Call Number: QK495.A1B38 1982 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0917304217Publication Date: 1982-06-15 -
How to know the grasses; Pictured-keys for determining the common and important American grasses with suggestions and aids for their study
Call Number: QK495.G74P73 1968v - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0697048551 -
How to Know The Mosses and Liverworts: Pictured-Keys For Determining Many of the North American Mosses and Liverworts, with suggestions and aids for Their Study
Call Number: QK541.C6 1959 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: How to Know The Mosses and Liverworts: Pictured-Keys For Determining Many of the North American Mosses and Liverworts, with suggestions and aids for Their Study -
Illustrated Companion to Gleason and Cronquist's Manual of Vascular Plants
by
Call Number: QK117.H65 1998 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0893273996Publication Date: 1998-03-01 -
Illustrated Handbook of Succulent Plants
by
Call Number: QK495.A32I44 2001 v.1 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 3540416919Publication Date: 2001-11-06. -
An Introduction to Plant Structure and Development: Plant Anatomy for the Twenty-First Century
by
Call Number: QK641.B38 2010 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780521518055Publication Date: 2010-04-22 -
Manual of Phycology; ; An Introduction to the Algae and Their Biology.
by
Call Number: QK1.C56 v.27 Book - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 9780826082701Publication Date: 1951-01-01 -
Medical Botany: Plants Affecting Human Health
by
Call Number: RS164.L475 2003 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - REFISBN: 0471628824Publication Date: 2003-09-04 -
Medicinal Plants of the World: An Illustrated Scientific Guide to Important Medicinal Plants and Their Uses
by
Call Number: RS164.V295 2004 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0881926027Publication Date: 2004-02-15 -
Mr. Bloomfield's Orchard: The Mysterious World of Mushrooms, Molds, and Mycologists
by
Call Number: QK603.M59 2002 - John Cotton Dana Library (Newark) - STACKSISBN: 0195154576Publication Date: 2002-10-17 -
The Names of Plants
by
Call Number: QK96.G54 2002 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 052181863XPublication Date: 2002-10-10 -
National Audubon Society Field Guide to Wildflowers
by
Call Number: QK112.N53 1979 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0394504321Publication Date: 1979-06-12 -
A Natural History of Conifers
by
Call Number: QK494.F36 2008 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780881928693Publication Date: 2008-05-15 -
Natural Products from Plants
by
Call Number: QK861.N38 1999 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 084933134XPublication Date: 1998-05-29 -
The Nature and Properties of Soils
by
Call Number: S591.B79 2008 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780132279383Publication Date: 2007-09-06 -
A Photographic Atlas for the Botany Laboratory
by
Call Number: QK642.V36 2004 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0895826143Publication Date: 2004-01-01 -
Plant Biochemistry
by
Call Number: QK861.H4513 2005 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0120883910Publication Date: 2004-09-02 -
Plant Evolution and the Origin of Crop Species
by
Call Number: SB106.O74H36 2012 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9781845938017Publication Date: 2012-09-13 -
Plant Form: An Illustrated Guide to Flowering Plant Morphology
by
Call Number: QK641.B39 2008 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780881928501Publication Date: 2008-09-03 -
Poisonous Mushrooms of the Northern United States and Canada
by
Call Number: RA1242.M9A45 1985 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0816614075Publication Date: 1986-01-01 -
A Practical Guide to Turfgrass Fungicides
by
Call Number: SB608.T87L38 2011 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780890543924Publication Date: 2011-01-01 -
The Seeds and Fruits of Plants of Eastern Canada and Northeastern United States
by
Call Number: QK660 .M66 1977 - Library of Science and Medicine (Busch) - STACKSISBN: 0802053416Publication Date: 1976-01-01 -
Trees of the Northern United States and Canada
by
Call Number: QK110.F3 1995 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 081382740XPublication Date: 1991-01-16Identifies in a full-color guide more than 300 species of conifer and broadleaf trees found in the upper United States (Virginia to northern California) and Canada. -
Turfgrass Management
by
Call Number: SB433.T84 2008 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 9780132236164Publication Date: 2007-05-11 -
Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook
by
Call Number: SB731.W47 2001 Book - Chang Science Library (Cook) - REFISBN: 0792386639Publication Date: 2001-12-31 -
Xeriscape Gardening: Water Conservation for the American Landscape by
Call Number: SB475.83.E45 1992 - Chang Science Library (Cook) - STACKSISBN: 0026141256Publication Date: 1992-08-01
