Botany & Plant Sciences

Search slides by category and search terms

Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Over 137,000 images of plants from University of California at Berkeley.

Photographs of 859 species listed by color, common name, scientific name, family and month.
Also photographs of fungi, fauna and others.

Worldwide, large image collection

Designed for use in a plant systematics course at the University of Illinois, presents image and informational text for the major families of flowering plants.

The Atlas of Florida Plants provides a source of information for the distribution of plants within the state. It also serves as a resource for the the Guide to the Vascular Plants of Florida (Wunderlin 1998; Wunderlin and Hansen 2003, 2011) and for various regional floras, such as Long and Lakela (1971), Wunderlin (1982), and Clewell (1985).

Forestry Images is a joint project of The University of Georgia - Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources and College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health, US Forest Service, International Society of Arboriculture, USDA Identification Technology Program

Integrated Digitized Biocollections (iDigBio), the National Resource for Advancing Digitization of Biodiversity Collections (ADBC) is funded by the National Science Foundation. Through ADBC, data and images for millions of biological specimens are being made available in electronic format for the research community, government agencies, students, educators, and the general public.

The NAL Digital Collections offers one avenue by which customers can use collection materials available in digital format, whether those materials originated in that format or were converted to it later. The NAL Digital Collections offers rich searching, browsing and retrieval of digital materials and collections and provides reliable, long-term online access to selected publications.

A collection of photos and descriptions of weeds found in New Jersey

Now Over 4,000 Images and Growing

A video presentation from the National Science Foundation Multimedia Gallery.

The plant collections of the Smithsonian Institution began with the acquisition of specimens collected by the United States Exploring Expedition (1838-1842). These formed the foundation of a National Herbarium which today numbers over 5 million historical plant records, placing it among the world's largest and most important.
Over 1.7 million specimen records (including over 113,000 type specimens with images) are currently available in this online catalog.

The Plant Anatomy Digital Archive features over 1,700 images from more than 250 species of plants collected from all over the world. The images are digitized micrographs of parts of plants that were sectioned, stained, and permanently mounted to a glass slide.

Images of wild and domestic plants. Please check images for conditions of use.

Thousands of images, also non-vascular plants

Access images from the Vascular Plant Image Library by family and then by species

On-line worldwide vegetation and distribution maps. Note: This webpage is no longer being maintained

EDDMapS is a web-based mapping system for documenting invasive species distribution. It is fast, easy to use and doesn't require Geographic Information Systems experience. Launched in 2005 by the Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health at the University of Georgia, it was originally designed as a tool for state Exotic Pest Plant Councils to develop more complete distribution data of invasive species.

Founded in 1915 as the Map Department of the National Geographic Society, National Geographic Maps is responsible for illustrating the world around us through the art and science of mapmaking. Today, National Geographic Maps continues this mission by creating the world’s best wall maps, outdoor recreation maps, travel maps, atlases and globes that inspire people to care about and explore their world

Interactive maps and downloadable conservation data from The Nature Conservancy.

Maps of the ranges of tree species in North America compiled by Elbert Little, of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, and others (see references below) were digitized for use in USGS' vegetation-climate modeling studies. These digital map files are available here for download.

Database of vegetation plots, plant community and species data operated by Ecological Society of America's Panel on Vegetation Classification.