Botany & Plant Sciences

Agricola covers all aspects of agriculture including: agriculture, agronomy, animal science, biology, biotechnology, botany, breeding, chemistry, conservation, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, farm management, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, forestry, horticulture, hydrology, hydroponics, microbiology, nutrition, pesticides, physiology, plant science, pollution, soil science, water quality, and zoology. Agricola contains citations to over 3.7 million records, both in English and non-English.

This database is appropriate for any researcher working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection and immunity in man, other animals and plants. This database is a relevant resource for microbiologists as well as research professionals in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology and other related fields.

BioOne provides integrated access to interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

BIOSIS Previews database is a comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research.

(Coverage: Current)
Contains over 1,000 evidence-based monographs on natural medicines compiled by clinicians
These monographs, appropriate for patient care situations, include: common, as well as colloquial names, brand names, scientific names, product uses, safety, effectiveness, description of known constituents, pharmacological actions, adverse reactions, possible interactions, any influence on nutrient levels and depletion in the body after use of the substance(s), dosage and admin

Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.

ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.

A comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database. Includes a citation searching facility.

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) database comprises genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana.

The Web of Science collection includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Web of Science can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors through the "Cited Reference Search" and also allows subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches.

Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Botanicus is made possible through support from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, W.M. Keck Foundation, and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

The Common Names of Plant Diseases lists have been prepared by authorities on the given plants and include approved common names, along with the associated pathogens or causes. The collator’s or collators’ names and the date each list was posted are provided with the list. Anyone who would like to propose a change to a list should complete this form and submit it according to the directions provided.

Detailed descriptions of plants in a database searchable by taxa.

To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.

A fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evoluation, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.

The National Forest Service Library catalog (FS INFO) is an online index of natural resources publications, including Forest Service literature. FS INFO provides citations to forestry and forestry-related natural resource literature, links to full text (pdf) are provided when available.

The Germplasm Resources Information Network's (GRIN) mission is to support four projects, the National Plant Germplasm System (NPGS), the National Animal Germplasm System (NAGP), the National Microbial Germplasm Program (NMGP), the National Invertebrate Germplasm Program (NIGRP).

Databases include International Plant Names Index, Index of Botanists, Index of Botanical Publications, Index of Botanical Specimens

HerbMed is an interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an impartial, evidence-based information resource provided by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc. This public site provides access to 20 of the most popular herbs.

Index Herbariorum is a guide to the world's herbaria. Information is available for searching by institution, city, state, acronym, staff member, correspondent, research specialty, and important collections. Telephone and fax numbers and e-mail and URL addresses are included.

The Index to American Botanical Literature has provided a service to the American botanical community for over a century, published initially in the Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club and subsequently in Brittonia. Beginning in 1886, when Elizabeth Britton of The New York Botanical Garden was editor, the Index has provided bibliographic data both on books and articles in periodicals. In 1999, the Index went to an entirely electronic format.

The Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers was an NSF funded project that aims to extract and index original plant chromosome numbers of naturally occurring and cultivated plants published throughout the world.

Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

The International Organization for Plant Information (IOPI) manages a series of cooperative international projects that aim to create and link databases of plant taxonomic information.

The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked. IPNI is a dynamic resource, depending on direct contributions by all members of the botanical community.

An encyclopaedic resource to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide. It comprises detailed datasheets, images, and maps, a bibliographic database and full text articles.

Browse Kew's collections (DNA and Tissue Band, Seed Collection, etc.), data and digital resources (Plants of the World, Names and Taxonomy, etc.), and more. From the Kew Royal Botanic Gardens.

MedBioWorld is a premier online resource portal for professional medical and biotechnology information. Users can find a list of Botany journals and can search the portal's resources.

The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium is the gateway to the digitized specimens of the William and Lynda Steere Herbarium. Currently, 2.5 million specimen records and 1.5 million images are available. Every month, about 20,000 new records and images are added.

Founded in 1899, the Mertz Library has evolved to become one of the largest, most comprehensive botanical libraries in the world and is a treasury of knowledge about all aspects of the plant world.

In the upper right hand menu bar, select Browse, then Browse by subject. From there, select your area of interest to find relevant data repositories.

ePIC is a major project to bring together all of Kew's digitised information about plants and make it easier to search. You can use it to pinpoint information of interest in our varied collections, bibliographies, nomenclators and checklists, publications and taxonomic works, as well as links to information resources provided by external organisations.

This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating the social sciences to forestry. Among them are: legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment and finance.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents. Database produced by the U of Minn Forestry Library.

Treesearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Included in Treesearch are scholarly works published by the agency as well as those published by others, including papers appearing in journals and presented at conferences.

Tropicos® was originally created for internal research but has since been made available to the world’s scientific community. All of the nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data accumulated in MBG’s electronic databases during the past 25 years are publicly available here. This system has over 1.2 million scientific names and 4.0 million specimen records.

An extensive index to academic, trade and popular publications related to turfgrass and its management. Useful for exploring social, horticultural, and ecologic perspectives of grass and lawns. Many records link to full text.

Indexes publications relating to the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests; selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs.

"An Online Flora of All Known Plants" searchable by species, genus or family name, or any words describing the plant.