Research Guides: Labor Relations and the Sports Industry: Find Articles

Find Articles in Online Indexes and Databases

The sports and labor relations researcher uses a variety of databases to identify and locate articles: News databases like Access World News, legal databases like Hein Online, and busiiness databases like Business Source Premier. Supplement database searching with searches on Google Scholar, which may surprise you. Unless otherwise noted, all databases listed here are for Rutgers students and faculty only.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed for academic institutions. Although it contains less business-oriented titles than Business Source Premier (see below), it is useful when the researcher is targeting academic studies from the most important peer-reviewed journals.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 1,200 North American newspapers and over 2,200 international newspapers. The entire collection or a selection of newspapers by specific title, region, state, country, or continent can be searched.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier covers business and management. It contains the full-text or abstracts of articles from thousands of professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. This database also includes corporate profiles, industry reports, and country risk and economic reports.
Factiva
Factiva is the primary news database, containing articles from 8,000 leading business newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television/radio transcripts.
Hein Online
Database of legal journals.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides access to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including organizational behavior, organizational change, and team work.
Sports Law (Cornell Legal Information Institute)
Find legal websites pertaining to sports law.
Westlaw Campus Research
Primarily useful for legal research, Westlaw can also be used to research news and business topics. Includes Hoovers Company Records and a searchable database of SEC filings.

Relevant Online Journals

Entertainment and Sports Law Journal
The Entertainment and Sports Law Journal (ESLJ) is a refereed online journal. It is located within a dynamic and rapidly expanding area of legal theory and legal practice.

The following is a selected list of journals that relate to labor relations and sports. Clink on a link to view holdings information within the Rutgers University library system or to directly access the articles online. Don't forget about Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services if you find a journal to which Rutgers doesn't subscribe.

International Journal of Sport Finance
The International Journal of Sport Finance (IJSF) is published quarterly (February, May, August, November) and serves as a high-level forum for the dissemination of current research on sport finance topics on a worldwide basis.
International Review for the Sociology of Sports
A quarterly, peer-reviewed academic journal, indexed on ISI, whose main purpose is to disseminate research on sport throughout the international academic community.
Journal of Sports Economics
The JSE is published in association with the North American Association of Sports Economists. The aim of the journal is to further research in the area of sports economics by bringing together theoretical and empirical research in a single intellectual venue.
Seton Hall Journal of Sports and Entertainment Law
The journal began publication of Volume 1 in 1991 as the Seton Hall Journal of Sport Law. Beginning with Volume 14, the journal became the Seton Hall Journal of Sports and Entertainment Law.
Sports Law eJournal
Established in 2005 by the Centre for Commercial Law, the Sports Law eJournal (Bond) is an electronic journal with an international and comparative law focus.
Sports Lawyers Journal
The Sports Lawyers Journal is a national legal journal edited by Tulane Law students and published by the Sports Lawyers Association (SLA).