Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Women's and Gender Studies: Primary Sources

This guide presents select resources for research on women and gender issues.

Vogue Archives

 
  • Check the Vogue Archive with issues from 1892 to present. It includes articles, images and advertising. You can do a keyword search (ex. lingerie, brassiere)

Data

QUICK DATA

Statistics and data already complied.

  • GenderStats is maintained and published by the World Bank and presents data on gender at the country level.

      DATABASES

      • UN WomenWatch provides statistics and indicators relating to gender equality and women's human rights.

       

        Images and Documents

        MANUSCRIPT COLLECTIONS

        IMAGE COLLECTONS

        • ARTstor is an image library with more than 700,000 images provided by museums, academic institutions, etc.
        • Center for Women's Global Leadership (CWGL) poster holdings at RUcore. Go to RUcore site and search for "CWGL Poster Collection." 
        • Dovie Horvitz Collection consists of over 1,300 images and scanned texts representing objects and printed matter that reflect the livesof women from the mid 1800s through the mid 1900s. 

        DATABASES WITH PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL

        DATABASES WITH DOCUMENTARY FILMS

        Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.