SC&I Doctoral Students Orientation
An introduction to library resources for SC&I doctoral students.
Note
For a complete list of indexes and databases, visit the Databases page. For most databases, you will need to log in with your NetID when connecting from off campus.
Discipline Specific Databases
- ASIS&T Digital LibraryFour major publications issued by the American Society of Information Science and Technology.
- ComAbstractsA database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including discourse, linguistics, media studies, and rhetoric.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)A database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including discourse, linguistics, media studies, and rhetoric.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterA national education database that includes many library and information science journals.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full TextArticles and book reviews from library and information science periodicals published in the United States and internationally.
- Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)Library science, information theory, online retrieval, etc.
- PsycInfoCore journals in psychology, communications, and sociology.
- Sociological AbstractsCoverage of the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCovers "literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy."
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search PremierA multi-disciplinary database that covers a variety of subjects. Good place to start.
- ACM Digital LibraryFull text collection of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM).
- IEEE XploreCovers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering.
- JSTORIncludes back runs of scholarly journals in a wide range of social sciences, humanities, and other disciplines.
- Project MuseProvides full text articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- ScienceDirectThis is a massive full text database that includes some key LIS journals such as the Information Processing & Management, Journal of Academic Librarianship, Library and Information Science Research and Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services, among many other titles.
- Westlaw Campus ResearchFull text and Indexing for newspapers, news magazines, news wires, blogs, and more. Also includes business, trade and professional journals and publications, court opinions, statutes, regulations, and law reviews and journals.
QuickSearch
Google Scholar Search
Google Scholar is freely searchable, but if you access it through Rutgers University Libraries, you'll be able to get to subscription content that would otherwise be inaccessible. Articles not accessible through Rutgers University Libraries can be requested.