Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes a clickable map with links to thousands of municipal codes.
Provides access to thousands of municipal codes from across all 50 states.
For municipal codes not listed at these sites, try visiting the website for the municipality or contacting the municipality directly.
Counties and Municipalities
Census of Governments
Identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships.
Links to official and unofficial web pages for NJ, NY, and PA municipalities and counties, and related resources.
A directory of federal, state, and local government sites from all branches of government.
Brief entries about the mayors of cities and towns in the United States with a population of 30,000 and larger. Includes a photo, contact information, and the date of the next mayoral election.
NACo County Explorer
Data resource from the National Association of Counties, including a clickable map with search functions and a data extraction tool.
National Center for State Courts - Browse by State
Includes links to state court web sites and related resources.
"Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more." From the U.S. Census Bureau.
State Government Information
Lists a variety of meta-indexes for state and local government information, plus links to information specific to each state. Provided by the Library of Congress.