Research Guides: Public Affairs, Public Service, and Public Administration: Nonprofit Organizations

Finding Out About Nonprofits

Article Sources

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection--Interdisciplinary search of numerous databases such as PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Criminal Justice, and others. You can place exact phrases in quotation marks, such as "public management" or "civic engagement". (Rutgers-restricted access)
Business Source Premier (Business and Management) -- full text for many scholarly journals in public administration and nonprofit management (Rutgers-restricted access)

Charitable and Other Nonprofit Sites

Foundation Directory Online (Professional) --A place to look for external funders and potential partners in social ventures. Includes 990s. (Rutgers-restricted access)
Charity Navigator -- Rates charities on their financial efficiency as well as their accountability. Includes historical data.
GuideStar (Candid) -- Freemium. Sign up for a free account to obtain basic information.
Economic Research Institute--990 Finder
ProPublica--Nonprofit Explorer. Locates Forms 990 as well as mentions of other groups inside 990 filings.
Grantspace.org--Source of grantsmanship how to's from the Foundation Center. Most resources are free.
For more on grantsmanship, consult our Grants and Grantsmanship guide.

News

Access World News for New Jersey newspapers (or papers from other states or from specific countries). Star-Ledger from 1989 to present in full text. (Rutgers-restricted access)
Factiva includes full-text access to the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present and the New York Times from 1980 to the present as well as Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and other major national newspapers (also has company profiles) (Rutgers-restricted access)