Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Public Affairs, Public Service, and Public Administration: Technology

This guide includes resources for studying public affairs, public service, and public administration.

Organizations

e-Government, IEEE Computer Society Technical Community on

IEEE interest group, apparently open to non-members as well.

ICMA Topic Area:  Technology

Technology information from the International County/City Management Association.

Code for America

Volunteer group bringing technology to the business of government.  Coders build apps and use existing government data in innovative ways for public service.

U.S. Digital Service

Coders in the Office of the President.

 

 

 

 

Best Bet Databases

  • ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection --Interdisciplinary search of numerous databases such as PAIS,Worldwide Political Science AbstractsSocial Services AbstractsProQuest Criminal Justice, and others.  You can place exact phrases in quotation marks, such as "public management" or "civic engagement".
  • Business Source Premier (Business and Management) -- full text for many scholarly journals in public administration and nonprofit management
  • EconLit (Economics) -- includes economists' views and studies of many social issues, including health care, poverty, and homelessness
  • Google Scholar (Rutgers version) -- Use this one to find Rutgers linked full text
  • Academic Search Premier -- Covers many different subjects; indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly items
  • Homeland Security Digital Library -- from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security at the Naval Postgraduate School.  Scholarly sources, many full image
  • ProQuest Natural Science Collection -- Includes earth science and environmental science, among other subjects
  • Statista -- "Statista gathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases."--from the library introduction page
  • QuickSearch -- A Rutgers multi-database search featuring Rutgers holdings.  Go to http://libraries.rutgers.edu or use ADVANCED SEARCH to get started.  Sign in with your Net ID and password for best results.  Once signed in to QuickSearch, you many also use BROWSE to find books by ISBN.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.