Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Statistics and Data Resources Available Through the Rutgers Libraries
Provides up-to-date information, statistics and news on 192 countries of the world.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Provides fast and easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources, with over 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets available.Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources. A simple interface to quickly look up data is also included in the database.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Includes data related to history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
ICPSR, the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR is the largest repository of social science data in the world. Since 1962, the ICPSR, based at the University of Michigan, has collected and made available the datasets of many major government studies in their entirety, along with polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers.
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals. Materials focus on economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, aging society, communication and information technologies, energy, development, and science and innovation.
Online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries.
Provides convenient access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion. Social Explorer's strength is its interactive mapping tool that allows data to be easily visualized, as well as the easy creation of data extracts.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, etc.
Statistic's Canada's E-STAT
Statistical tables track trends in virtually every aspect of the lives of Canadians including the economy; land and resources; demographics; health; government; and elections. Includes: 1) CANSIM, a multidimensional socio-economic database containing 38 million time series regrouped in more than 2,800 tables, 2) Canada's census data with reference maps, 3) Interactive maps of data from the 2006 and 2001 censuses, 4) an Environment Module, and 5) annual data on Human Activity and the Environment.
UNdata is a multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system. The resource also includes estimates and projections. Areas of coverage are: agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade and tourism. Indicators such as Millennium Development Goals are also part of the collection.
World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators is a complete and authoritative collection of statistics on countries, regions, and economic groupings of the world, as collected and presented by the World Bank. Data series include extensive economic, demographic, social, environmental, educational, and cultural indicators.
Data Services and GIS Information
Ryan Womack is the Data Services librarian at Rutgers. A wealth of information is available in his Data Services Research Guide.
You may contact Ryan with data related questions. Contact information is provided in his guide.
For GIS information, please see his Introduction to GIS guide, which includes data resources, and ArcGIS tutorials and resources.