Explore these online encyclopedias for background information on a wide range of topics in geography:
Encyclopedia of American Urban History
Covers interdisciplinary topics in economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology.
Encyclopedia of EcoTourism
Includes definitions, regional perspectives, venues, impacts, planning and management considerations, and issues with ecotourism businesses, research and training.
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
Covers themes such as conceptual foundations, cartography and visualization, design aspects, data manipulation, data modeling, geocomputation, geospatial data, societal issues, spatial analysis, and organizational and institutional aspects.
Encyclopedia of Geography
Reflects the enormous diversity of the discipline and the diverse views of geographers.
Encyclopedia of GIS
A comprehensive and authoritative treatment of the field, extensively cross-referenced with key citations and further readings.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Covers cartography/geographical information systems, economic geography, geographic theory and history, political geography, social/cultural geography, and urban geography.
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
Includes important work and traditions from each of the urban disciplines, including urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban history, urban politics, urban psychology, and urban sociology.
Geo-data: the World Geographical Encyclopedia
Detailed descriptions of the physical geography of countries throughout the world.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Covers the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas
SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Combines and compares terminology in nine social and behavioral science disciplines: communication, economics, education, geography, media studies, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology.
From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, the Factbook includes maps and detailed information on the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries worldwide.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: email@example.com or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.