Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles on a Topic
To the right is a selected list of indexes that will lead you to articles in geography. A complete list of indexes on all topics can be found on the libraries main Indexes and Databases page. Geography is a broad subject area; you may wish to explore the main Indexes page for additional resources.
To learn how to use these Indexes, be sure to see: How do I find an Article on my Topic?
How Do I Know Whether RU Has a Particular Journal?
Check here to see whether Rutgers subscribes to the journal you need, and if not, learn how to have a copy of the article scanned for you from another university.
How Do I Know Whether My Article is Scholarly?
See this guide to help determine whether you have found a scholarly article.
Indexes Leading to Articles in Geography
Academic Search Premier
Wide range of scholarly journals and popular magazines covering most fields of academic study. Can limit search to scholarly articles.
Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports. Also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, book citations, etc. Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers. Must navigate to Google Scholar via the library website to access full text.
Sustainability Science Abstracts
Covers all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, and conservation and management of natural resources.
Current Geographical Publications
Links to tables of contents for hundreds of geography journals. In order to access articles, use the "Journals" tab on our library homepage and search for the name of the JOURNAL in our catalog. Use in combination with How do I know if RU has a particular journal? See box to left. ( http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/how_do_i/know_ru_has_a_journal )