Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Mission Course of Douglass Residential College: Articles and Books

This guide is for students in the mission course of Douglass Residential College.

Catalog Quick Search

Search all Rutgers Libraries for books, videos, media, microforms, and other materials.

Basic Search
Advanced Search
Call Number Search
My Library Account
Reserves
This just in... New stuff in the Libraries

Ebrary Academic Complete

We have more than 130,000 e-book titles on different subjects in  ProQuest Ebook Central. You can download the entire book or by chapters of interest. These titles are NOT represented in the catalog. 

Search Tips

Look for a book or media material:

  • Start off searching the Library Catalog with a keyword search; type in a general word or two that best describes your topic.
  • Browse the results list to see if there is a title that looks relevant. If there are none, try your search again with some more specific terms.
  • If you find a relevant book, click on the title to see the full Library Catalog record. Write down the subject headings (or tags) associated with the book.
  • Continue to browse the results list, and write down any related subject headings for relevant books.

Narrow it down:

  • Take the relavant subject headings you wrote down, and search by selecting "subject" from the drop-down bar next to the Library Catalog search box.
  • Try to mix and match some of the subject headings to find a wide variety of relevant books.

Problems?

  • If you are having problems finding any relevant results, make a list of synonyms or similar phrases to your topic and try searching each of them.

Databases on Women and Gender

You can search for e-books, articles and dissertations using the search box on the libraries main page. 

However, sometimes it works better to go to individual databases specialized on the topic of women and gender. You can also access them and other databases clicking on the View All Databases link below the main search box. 

GenderWatch provides access to citations and full text resources on the topics of women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues. Prominent topics include sexuality, religion, social roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.

Women's Studies International indexes interdisciplinary scholarship in feminist research published in academic journals, newspapers, bulletins, reports, and thesis and dissertations.

Dissertations and Thesis Global presents doctoral dissertations and masters thesis from different universities. Most of them are available full-text. Dissertations and thesis are similar to books or monographs. 

 

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.