Social Work: PhD Students
A guide to library and research resources for doctoral students in social work.
Data Librarian
Ryan Womack, Economics and Data Librarian can also support data use for research projects. Please see his guide to Data Services.
Featured Books
- Secondary Data Analysis byAvailable in print and online.
- Secondary Data Sources for Public Health: a practical guide byAvailable online
Featured Finding Tools
- Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent HealthRequest a dataset.
- Guide to Datasets for Research and Policymaking in Child Care and Early EducationNational Center for Children in Poverty, January 2009
- NCHS Survey Measures Catalog (CDC)NCHS Survey Measures Catalog provides an overview of questions about child and adolescent mental health, and functioning and disability in various surveys of the NCHS Data Systems.
ICPSR and more
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) - This is the largest archive of social science data in the world. Direct downloads are restricted to Rutgers users. You must create your account while on campus, using your Rutgers e-mail. See the "My Data Login/Create Account" link. After creating an account, you can use your login from off campus, as long as you login from campus at least once every six months. See the Data User Help Center as well.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data -A thematic collection housed at ICPSR. Here is a complete list of thematic collections at ICPSR.
- SAMHDA DatafilesSAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health.
- Data-Planet Statistical DatasetsIndexes a wide range of government and private sources, with convenient ways to graph, export, and combine data.
Archives and Datasets-A sampling
- Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology (CPES)The National Institute of Mental Health Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys (CPES) provides data on the distributions, correlates, and risk factors of mental disorders among the general population, with special emphasis on minority groups.
- Current Population Survey (CPS)The March Supplement to the CPS, the Annual Social And Economic Supplement, gives data on income, poverty, and health insurance for the country.
- Early Childhood Longitudinal SurveyThe Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS) program includes three longitudinal studies that examine child development, school readiness, and early school experiences.
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and NeglectDatasets available include The National Survey of Child and Adolescent Well-Being, Adoption and Foster Care Analysis and Reporting System (AFCARS), Foster Care and Adoption files, and more.
- Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID)"The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), begun in 1968, is a longitudinal study of a representative sample of U.S. individuals (men, women, and children) and the family units in which they reside. It emphasizes the dynamic aspects of economic and demographic behavior, but its content is broad, including sociological and psychological measures."
Quick Data
Statistics and data already complied. The Statistical Abstract of the United States can be used as a gateway to the range of statistical information collected by the government.
- Child Welfare StatisticsChildren's Bureau (ACF)
- U.S. Global Health Budget TrackerProvided by the Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF).
- StateHealthFacts.orgProvided by the Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF).
Databases
- OECDiLibrarySelect "Statistics" link.