Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Spanish and Latin American Literature and Film: Author Biographies

Use this guide for researching the fiction, poetry, drama and cinema of Spain, Latin America and the Caribbean.

Biographical Databases

Core databases

Literature Resource Center

World Biographical Database

Secondary databases
(more limited coverage of Spanish-language authors.)

Current Biography

Contemporary Authors

Literature Online (LION)

Biographical Sourcebooks

Adams, J.R. 1995, Notable Latin American women : twenty-nine leaders, rebels, poets, battlers, and spies, 1500-1900, McFarland & Co., Jefferson, N.C. DOUGLASS REF CT3290.A33 1995

Alboukrek, A. & Herrera, E. 2002, Diccionario de escritores hispanoamericanos : del siglo XVI al siglo XX, 3rd edn, Larousse, México, D.F. ALEX REF PQ7081.3.A37 2002

Argueta, Mario. Diccionario de escritores hondureños. Tegucigalpa, M.D.C. : Editorial Universitaria, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras, 1993. ALEX PQ7500.A64 1993

Cuevas Morales, S. 2003, De la "A" a la "Z" : diccionario universal bio-bibliográfico de autoras que escriben en castellano, siglo XX, Aconcagua Pub, Madrid, España. ALEX REF PQ7081.3.C84 2003

de Mundo Lo, S. Index to Spanish American collective biography, G.K. Hall, Boston, Mass. ALEX, DOUGLASS REF Z1609.B6M86

Domínguez, F., Greenia, G.D. & Gale Group 2003, Castilian writers, 1400-1500, Gale, Detroit. ALEX REF PS88.D57 v.286

Flores, A. 1992, Spanish American authors : the twentieth century, H.W. Wilson, Bronx, NY. ALEX, DOUGLASS REF PQ7081.3.F57 1992

Foster, D.W. 1994, Latin American writers on gay and lesbian themes : a bio-critical sourcebook, Greenwood Press, Westport, Conn. ALEX, DOUGLASS PQ7081.3.F62 1994

Herrero Mediavilla, V. & Aguayo Nayle, L.R. 1990, Indice biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica = Indice biográfico de Espanha, Portugal e Ibero-América = Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American biographical index, K.G. Saur, München; New York. ALEX REFCOM CT1345.I532 1997 (CD-ROM)

Kanellos, N. 1989, Biographical dictionary of Hispanic literature in the United States : the literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic writers, Greenwood Press, New York. ALEX, CARR REF PQ7420.2.K3 1989

Lara Valdez, Josefina. Diccionario biobibliográfico de escritores de México nacidos entre 1920-1970. México, D.F. : Centro Nacional de Información y Promoción de la Literatura, Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes ; [Provo, Utah] : Brigham Young University, 1994, c1993. ALEX PQ7155.L37 1994

Levine, L.G., Marson, E.E. & Waldman, G. 1993, Spanish women writers : a bio-bibliographical source book, Greenwood Press, Westport, Conn. DOUGLASS, CARR REF PQ6055.S63 1993

Lockhart, D.B. 2004, Latin American mystery writers : an A-to-Z guide, Greenwood Press, Westport, Conn; London. ALEX REF PQ7082.N7L352 2004

Lockhart, D.B. 1997, Jewish writers of Latin America : a dictionary, Garland Pub., New York. ALEX REF PQ7081.3.J49 1997

McNerney, K. & Enríquez de Salamanca, C. 1994, Double minorities of Spain : a bio-bibliographic guide to women writers of the Catalan, Galician, and Basque countries, Modern Language Association of America, New York. DOUGLASS REF PC3904.D68 1994

Parker, M. 1998, Spanish dramatists of the Golden Age : a bio-bibliographical sourcebook, Greenwood Press, Westport, Conn; London. ALEX REF PQ6051.S63 1998

Ryan, B. 1991, Hispanic writers : a selection of sketches from Contemporary authors, Gale Research, Detroit. DOUGLASS REF PQ7081.3.H58 1991

Schon, I. & Gavaldón de Barreto, L. 1994, Contemporary Spanish-speaking writers and illustrators for children and young adults : a biographical dictionary, Greenwood Press, Westport, Conn. ALEX REF PQ7082.C48C66 1994

Solé, C.A. & Abreu, M.I. 1989, Latin American writers, Scribner, New York. ALEX, CARR REF PQ7081.A1L37 1989

Tompkins, C. & Foster, D.W. 2001, Notable twentieth-century Latin American women : a biographical dictionary, Greenwood Press, Westport, Conn; London. DOUGLASS REF CT3290.N68 2001

Woods, R.D. 1988, Mexican autobiography : an annotated bibliography = La autobiografía mexicana : una bibliografía razonada, Greenwood Press, New York. ALEX REF Z5305.M6W6618 1988

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.