Skip to main content
EconLit is the American Economic Association's index to scholarly literature in economics from 1969 to present. This is the best index for coverage of scholarship in economics.
For the journals indexed and coverage dates in EconLit see this list. For coverage from 1963 to 1968, consult the Journal of Economic Abstracts.
In contrast to a general search tool like Google Scholar, EconLit allows precise control of subject coverage, dates, geographic descriptors and much more. Articles in EconLit are organized by JEL Classification Codes. Perhaps the largest benefit of using a subject-specific tool is that all of the results you find will come from publications in economics.
Finding Specific Journals
To access Rutgers' subscribed electronic journals, search for specific titles in the Library Catalog, and look for the electronic access links. You can also request PDFs of journals held in print at Rutgers using the Article Delivery button in the Catalog.
You can also consult the general Electronic Journal Lists, or the subject list of journals in the social sciences.
Note that the Electronic Journal List is automatically generated and may have missing or outdated links. If you don't see a title in the Electronic Journal List, always search the Library Catalog to be sure of its availability.
Search Tools for Journal Articles
Besides EconLit, other relevant indexes for articles and documents include:
- Access UN indexes United Nations publications.
Full-Text Online provides access to journals and papers from APEC,
ADB, and other organizations focused on the Asian economy.
is Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, covering a selection of
social sciences journals.
- Business Source Premier contains full text and
indexing of leading scholarly business journals.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (Monthly
Catalog) indexes US documents since 1976.
- CIAO is Columbia
International Affairs Online - full text working papers, conference
proceedings, and research reports on international affairs. Includes
information from American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution,
Cato Institute, London School of Economics, and more.
- Declassified Documents Reference System is a full
text database of US government declassified documents.
- Factiva is a full text database of news, business,
and (some) academic publications from around the world, in multiple languages.
- Fed in Print is the official index to Federal
Reserve Bank economic research.
- Left Index provides coverage of Marxist, radical,
and left-leaning publications.
- PAIS provides international coverage of public
affairs and policy.
- Popline covers population and demography
- Population Index: PopIndex
(Princeton University) index to scholarly literature on demography
provides full text of books, reports, and papers of the Organization
for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- Web of Science is a citation index to thousands of
academic journals. Explore the literature by tracking who is citing your