Cultural History Across Borders
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies
Finding Archival Collections
- ArchiveGrid
- Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids.Over 2,500 libraries, museums, and archives worldwide have contributed nearly a million record descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Rutgers-restricted Access
Primary Source Databases
- Collections of Digitized Primary Sources Materials
- Databases available through the Rutgers University Libraries.
Digital Libraries
- Library of Congress: Digital Collections
- The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.
- Digital Public Library of America
- Over 40 million "images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States."
- OAC: Online Archive of California
- Detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
- British History Online
- Digital library based at the Institute of Historical Research. Primary and secondary sources from the medieval period to the twentieth century.
- Gallica
- Hugh digital library from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
- Europeana
- Digitized collections from over 2,200 contributing cultural heritage organizations across Europe.
- Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano
- A project of the Association of National Libraries of Ibero-America (ABINIA).Participating libraries include the National Libraries of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Portugal, the Dominican Republic, Uruguay, and the University Library of Chile.
- Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
- Primarily pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards that were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. From Princeton University.