Cultural History Across Borders

Academic Search Premier

A basic multidisciplinary database, ASP indexes both news magazines (Time back to 1929, Newsweek, U.S. News and World Report) and scholarly journals. Especially strong for arts and humanities titles; also good resource for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

JSTOR

JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar

Use the Library's link to Google Scholar.

History

America: History and Life 1964- .

The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Historical Abstracts

1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Art and Architecture

ARTbibliographies Modern

Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art (19th century onward). Beyond the traditional art fields, covers performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy. Rutgers-restricted Access

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Index to over 2500 architectural periodicals. Covers architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation worldwide. Rutgers-restricted Access

Bibliography of the History of Art

Scholarly material published between 1975 and 2007 relating to the fine and applied arts. Rutgers-restricted Access

Art Index Retrospective

Index to art journals from 1929 to 1984. Rutgers-restricted Access

Communications

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full-text coverage of more than 280 titles plus citation coverage for many more. Many major journals searchable back to early 1900s. Rutgers-restricted Access

Economics

EconLit

Comprehensive bibliographic index for economic literature. Indexes journal, books, dissertations, working papers, and volumes of articles. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

IDEAS

The largest free Economics bibliographic database. Links to over almost five million items.

Education

ProQuest Education Journals

Index to more than 900 scholarly journals in the field of Education, along with trade journals and magazines. Approximately 600 titles are available full-text. Rutgers-restricted Access

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center

The premier resource for educational research, the ERIC database contains more than one million abstracts covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. 1966+ Rutgers-restricted Access

Database of Research on International Education

Index to research in international and transnational education, cross-border education, international students, and educational exchange. Limited to English language materials. Managed by the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).

Film Studies

MLA International Bibliography

1926- . The most comprehensive index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and other materials relating to literature, folkore, and film studies. Indexes more than 4400 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text

A comprehensive bibliographic database covering all types of writing, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics for film and television. Includes full-text for more than 100 journals and 100 books, including Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present, as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. Primary coverage 1990 to the present; selective coverage earlier.  Rutgers-restricted Access

Gender and Sexuality

GenderWatch

1970- Indexes articles relating to women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes non-mainstream publications. Rutgers-restricted Access

LGBTQ+ Source

Includes the full text of more than 140 journals and more than 150 books and reference materials, as well as indexing and abstracts for over 600 additional publications. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Women's Studies International

1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others. Rutgers-restricted Access.

The Transgender Archives

The Transgender Archives' online discovery tool searches the world’s largest collection of Trans, nonbinary, Two-Spirit, and other gender-diverse publications. From the University of Victoria.

Homeland Security

Homeland Security Digital Library

A collection of research materials on homeland security, policy, and organizational management, including borders and immigration, law and justice, terrorism, and weapons. Rutgers-restricted Access

Music

Music Index

1964- . Index to over 850 music periodicals published in more than 40 countries. Indexes book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news, as well as articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Rutgers-restricted Access

RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature

1967- . The world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature, providing broad international coverage including records in 140 languages from over 10,000 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text

Index to music magazines and journals published in Europe and North America between 1760 and 1966. Rutgers-restricted Access

Music Magazine Archive

A collection of digital magazines focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap, 1946-2016. Rutgers-restricted Access

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.