History Workshop on the United States Southwest

It contains over 6,000 digitized periodicals from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Most date from the late 18th-19th centuries. Most were published in America, though some were published in the British Isles and elsewhere. If you wish to search specific magazines, select the SOURCE field and type in the magazine title (ex. Harper's magazine).

It is a collection of digitized primary sources depicting the history of westward expansion in the United States from the early 18th to the mid-20th centuries. Material types include original manuscripts, maps, photographs, artwork, financial records, rare printed works, and ephemera from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago.

It includes more than 20 million records for books, periodical and newspaper articles, government publications, and archival collections. It is probably the most comprehensive resource for locating English language material printed in the 19th century.

It is a digital collection of nearly all the works published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in the United Kingdom) during the 18th century, totaling over 180,000 titles. The collection includes poems, plays, novels, histories, travel books, parliamentary papers, parish registers, conduct books, cookbooks, almanacs, and more.

It is a shared catalog of books, serials, pamphlets, and ephemeral materials published from 1473 through 1800.

This collection of digitized primary sources illuminate sthe daily lives of women in the United States in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Conduct of life manuals and domestic management literature are major highlights of the collection.

This collection of digitized primary sources documents European migration to and colonization of Africa, Australia, and North America. It also documents the everyday life of settlers in these locations. Though the collection primarily consists of materials produced by British colonists and American settlers, it also includes some materials produced by the Indigenous peoples they displaced.

It is a collection of digitized primary sources from the 17th to mid-20th century depicting the histories and cultures of Indigenous Peoples in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Materials in this collection are from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library in Chicago.

It is a collection of newspapers originally published between 1800 and 1900. Search using specific keywords such as "Navajos," or specific names of people and places.

It is a full-text, full-image collection of over 1000 newspapers, pamphlets, and broadsides dating from the 17th and 18th centuries. They have been digitized from the Reverend Charles Burney Collection at the British Museum.

This platform allows cross-searching of several Alexander Street primary source collections: American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; North American Women's Letters and Diaries, and Oral History Online.