Research Guides: U.S. History 1945-1990s: Federal Documents

Congressional Publications

U.S. Congressional Publications: Indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. Rutgers-restricted access

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980: A full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress. It documents the official activities of the committees of the House and the Senate, including the journals, reports, and documents. Rutgers-restricted Access

U.S. Declassified Documents Online: Full text access to a broad range of previously classified federal documents spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. Rutgers-restricted access

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s: Searchable collection of FBI files. Includes the COINTELPRO files, and files on Abbie Hoffman, the Black Panther Party, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Kent State, Malcolm X, Mississippi burning, Muslim Mosque, Inc., the Organization of Afro-American Unity, the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Rutgers-restricted Access

Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984: Previously classified FBI files on prominent African Americans and African-American organizations. Rutgers-restricted Access<

FBI Electronic Reading Room [The Vault].: Digital documents from the files of the FBI. You can use the A-Z Index, or browse through categories of documents including "Anti-War," "Civil Rights," "Political Figures and Events," and "Popular Culture."

Foreign Relations of the United States: U.S. Department of State. Washington, D.C., 1861- . The 'official' documentary record of U.S. foreign policy. Correspondence, reports, and documents relating to U.S. diplomatic history, published with a delay of approximately 25 years. Volumes from LIncoln (1861) to Clinton (2000) are in process or available online.