U.S. History 1945-1990s
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies
Need a Different Database?
This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Google Scholar
- Searches a wide range of scholarly (and non-scholarly) literature worldwide. Use this link to see "Get it@R" links when off-campus.
- Academic Search Premier
- The basic multidisciplinary index with a focus on the arts and humanities. Especially good source for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
- Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Among other databases includes PAIS International and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, the primary databases for political science and public policy. Rutgers-restricted Access
- JSTOR
- JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access
Databases
History
- America: History and Life
- 1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historical Abstracts
- 1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Business and Economics
- Business Source Premier
- The most comprehensive database to business literature. Rutgers-restricted access
- EconLit
- Comprehensive bibliographic index for economic literature. Indexes journal, books, dissertations, working papers, and volumes of articles. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Literature
- MLA International Bibliography
- 1926- . The most comprehensive index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and other materials relating to literature, folkore, and film studies. Indexes more than 4400 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Literature Online (LION)
- In addition to the full text of over 350,000 English-language literary works, you can select "Criticism" to search over 430 full-text literature journals as well as citations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Music
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- The most comprehensive index to music literature, covering over 10,000 journals and 178 countries. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Music Index
- Primary index to music literature covering over 850 music periodicals in more than 40 countries. Rutgers-restricted Access
- RIPM Jazz Periodicals
- A collection of over 100 full-text and full-image digitized jazz journals, primarily historic titles that ceased publication in the 20th century. Rutgers-restricted Access
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text
- Index to music magazines and journals published in Europe and North America between 1760 and 1966. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Music Magazine Archive
- A collection of digital magazines focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap, 1946-2016. Rutgers-restricted Access
Gender and Sexuality
- GenderWatch
- 1970- Indexes articles relating to women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes non-mainstream publications. Rutgers-restricted Access
- LGBTQ+ Source
- Includes the full text of more than 140 journals and more than 150 books and reference materials, as well as indexing and abstracts for over 600 additional publications. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Women's Studies International
- 1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- The Transgender Archives
- The Transgender Archives' online discovery tool searches the world’s largest collection of Trans, nonbinary, Two-Spirit, and other gender-diverse publications. From the University of Victoria.
Full Text Not Attached?
Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the 
button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.
Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?
If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.